Currently reading this week…

I can’t believe it’s Wednesday already and the fact that I managed to walk out of Borders today empty handed!

I would liked to try to make my blog a bit more interesting this week, but I’ve already fallen behind – combination of endless meetings and a current position that involves a lot of reading and computer work. (Boring reference reading though!)

I’ve recently finished The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald, review soon.

The Great Gatsby

Currently on my reading pile is:

- Babel by Barry Maitland: Another of the Brock and Kolla mysteries, this focuses on the murder of a London professor at university. Maitland writes excellent crime books, do check them out!

- Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson: My first Bill Bryson, reading it to and from work. It’s quite funny but I’m finding it a bit repetitive… should I try another of his works? Which one?

(Once again, all book images thanks to Goodreads. The weather has been far too bad to contemplate taking photos!)

23 responses to “Currently reading this week…

  1. Oh I like a good mystery. Can’t wait to see what you think of Babel.

    As for Bill Bryson, I read his book about small-town America called The Lost Continent. I didn’t really like it. I know his humor is supposed to be snarky, but he just seemed tortured at just about every place on his trip. We read it in my real life book club, and pretty much everyone liked it but me. Maybe you should try In a Sunburned Country (it’s about Australia) or maybe A Walk in the Woods (someone I talked said they liked that one). I’d be curious what you think of his Australia book for sure!

    Also, I’m doing an event on my blog called Book Read ‘Round the World. The goal of the event is to send a book on a journey around the world to different book bloggers and have them read and review the book (and comment on the event experience). If you are interested, I am still looking for Australian book bloggers. :)

    • I think Babel will be quite interesting. I love Barry Maitland’s books, he writes crime brilliantly. I think it might be worth trying another Bryson – perhaps the Australia one (I’ll either love it or throw it across the room in disgust) or a non-travel one.
      Book Read ‘Round the World looks cool- I shall have to check it out :)

  2. Welcome to the book blogging community! :) Found your blog via Dominique´s.

    I really enjoyed this Bryson book, it was also my first of his and I´m a britphile. But others that O also enjoyed were his memoirs (The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid) which are hilarious, and the one about Shakespeare. Maybe you´d enjoy them, too.

    • Thank you! I think part of my problem with the Bryson is that I haven’t been to England yet. I think I might try another one that is either not travel related or relates to somewhere I’ve been.

      • Oh, I forgot, he´s also written one about Australia. Maybe that´ll interest you, kind of fascinating to see how other people see your country :)

  3. I LOVE The Great Gatsby so I’m looking forward to your review. I have yet to read any Bryson, I really must get around to giving him a go.

    • Borders has 20% off at the moment on Bryson books. I think I’ll try to pick up my second at Big W/K Mart etc so I don’t waste too much money if I don’t like it. Hopefully they have the Australia one!

  4. I’m currently reading The Broken Shore by Peter Temple. It took a bit of getting into but I did enjoy it. I like crime fiction and this was a little out of the ordinary. It is set in Australia and reasonably well written. It highlights the racial tensions that can arise in a small country town when people are accused of a crime they did not necessarily commit.

  5. Have finished The Broken Shore and last night started The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas. I haven’t read much of it yet. I am finding the characters a little hard to follow. I have heard that some of the language in this isn’t really necessary. It will be interesting to see what I think.

  6. You’re certainly correct re the colourful language. I’m afraid I didn’t finish this book. It really wasn’t my type of book. I got over the language, but still couldn’t get into it.
    A much loved person once said to me-
    “Life is too short to read a book you don’t enoy.”
    I therefore don’t continue with books I don’t like as I feel this is so true.

    From this blog I have decided to read ‘The Help’ by Kathryn Stockett. I’m really enjoying it so far.

  7. I love ‘The Help’. I’m so glad I decided to read it. I love the language and also the mistaken words some of the people use. I think it is so true for people who learn another language to do this, as I have seen it often. One of the best so far is of someone nearly having a ‘cadillac’ arrest. (cardiac)
    Great book so far.

  8. I’m still reading “The Help”. It’s not that I’m not enjoying it-I love it. I’m feeling so sorry for Skeeter at the moment.
    Hopefully I’ll finish it this weekend.

  9. Have at last finished “The Help”. What a beautiful book. I loved every minute of it.

    I’ve started reading “Map of the Invisible World” by Tash Aw. I’m having trouble getting into it.

  10. I’ve just finished reading “Holding the Man” and have started Stephanie Laurens “Beyond Seduction”. I have seen her books and never read one so I have one from the library to try.

    Thank you for your review of “Holding the Man” as it is not a book I would have chosen myself.

  11. Since I have posted on here I’ve read “The Guernsey Literacy and Potato Peel Society.”
    I loved this book. It was interesting and different style of writing. Being written as letters. I think this gave more insight to the characters.
    I am part way through “The Girl who Played with Fire.” Stieg Larsson.
    This too is a memorable book. What a pity he isn’t here to write more books.

  12. I have just finished attempting to read ‘eat,pray,love.’
    I’m afraid I didn’t finish it. I got sick of the ravings of a women that I wasn’t at all interested in. I ‘sort of’ enjoyed reading about her time at the Ashram in India but that was all.
    I’m sure others have read it and enjoyed it, but not me.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

