Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte

Anne Bronte was the only one of the Bronte sisters I had not read so far. I loved Jane Eyre and enjoyed Wuthering Heights so I thought I should try Anne out (plus I could not resist the green Penguin Classic cover and the price of $4.50 Singapore dollars).

The plot of Agnes Grey is quite simple – Agnes lives at home and is somewhat forced to go out into the world to earn a living to support her family. She becomes a governess and is placed with an awful family. She returns home and then works again with another family (slightly less awful). There she meets a man who she loses, then finds again when she sets up a small school with her mother. The ending? I’m sure you can guess!

It is quite easy to read despite that it was written in 1847. The main themes are spoilt children (nothing different nowadays) and the support of family (Agnes’ mother is a constant source of support). Agnes herself is a very moral character, somewhat serious and lacking in humour to me. She always believes she is making the right choice and the other party is wrong (as this story is told in the first person, it’s hard to tell who really is right). 

This wasn’t my favourite Bronte book (Jane Eyre wins hands down). Is The Tenant of Wildfell Hall  any better?

6.5 out of 10

(Not my cover- I couldn’t find the cover of mine on the internet! They are available from Book Depository though)

7 responses to “Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte

  1. This sounds ok but not riveting. I really enjoyed The Tenant at WIldfiell Hall. The first chapter or so told from a male character’s perspective is a bit boring, but after that it switches to another character and really picks up a lot. I recommend it. :)

  2. Pingback: Mailbox Monday 28/3/11 « Sam Still Reading·

  3. I liked this book. Literary realism: Anne wasn’t afraid to lay out the life of a governess as it really was.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

