Recent Purchases

Hope everyone’s having a lovely weekend. I’ve been a little lax on the posts lately, mainly because of a short business trip to Melbourne.  I didn’t have much time for shopping or photographs but Melbourne is as lovely as always. I managed to check out in a couple of hours the Lindt cafe with its delicious Delices (macarons), the new Myer (dare I say it’s lost some of its charm without the uneven floors and hidden escalators), my favourite Cue store (271 Bourke St Mall, Best. Service. Ever.) and finally, Reader’s Feast. I felt a little guilty going into the store about 20 minutes before closing time, but the staff were as friendly as always.

This is what I picked up:

Yes, I went on a Richard Yates haul – very cheap at $12.95 each. I cleared the shelf! The four titles are Liars in Love, Disturbing the Peace, A Special Providence and The Easter Parade. (It’s so hot here I refuse to turn lights on for photographs!)

Back home today, I spent the last of my Dymocks voucher (not encouraged – much – by the promise of double Booklover points) on these:

Can you believe I have never read To Kill a Mockingbird? This will also be my first Sebastian Faulks.

As it’s so hot this weekend, I plan on doing a lot of reading (reading two long books, Ken Follett’s The Pillars of the Earth and Bill Bryson’s At Home. Both excellent, but so long!)

Have you made any interesting purchases this weekend?

7 responses to “Recent Purchases

  1. I am quite jealous when you say ‘it’s so hot this weekend’. It’s sooooo not hot here in Blighty. I’ve never Richard Yates but I keep hearing good things and those covers are wonderful. I hope you enjoy To Kill a Mockingbird, it’s one of my favourite books.

    • We’ve actually gone below 30C now (thank goodness) but I’ll be departing for the tropics soon, so need to get back in training! I love Richard Yates, the movie Revolutionary Road is one of the most faithful book translations I’ve seen.
      Hopefully will get to To Kill a Mockingbird soon, I feel I’m neglecting my ereader at the moment!

  2. Pingback: February in a Nutshell « Sam Still Reading·

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

