May’s Musings

May was a quieter blogging month for me, mainly due to loads of extra work and study commitments. I have been working away behind the scenes quietly over the previous weekend, so you can expect a bit more action in June. I did manage to read and review seven books though.

As usual, how I’m going on my challenges:

2011 Aussie Author Challenge

My challenge: Tourist level (3 books by 3 different authors)

I’ve already completed this challenge (back in February), but I’m going to add Sara Foster’s Beneath the Shadows because she states that she feels like she belongs to the UK and Australia (see here). I’m up to five books now.

Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge 2011

My challenge: Hajime (one book)

The Elephant Vanishes and Sputnik Sweetheart  are still sitting on my bookshelf. I’ll attempt to read one soon, but which one?

The Sense and Sensibility Bicentenary Challenge 2011

My challenge: Neophyte (read the original)

I’m just about to finish this! Review coming in June.

Historical Fiction Challenge 2011

My challenge: Struggling the Addiction (10 books).

I completed this in April, but read Ellis Island by Kate Kerrigan, Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman and The Fallen Kings (Morland Dynasty 32) by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles. I guess One Day by David Nicholls doesn’t count, even though it starts in the 1980s? So I’m now up to 13.

2011 Reading From My Shelves Project

My challenge: 20 paper books (am excluding ebooks).

29 paper books read now! My bookshelves are still overflowing though.

I enjoyed One Day by David Nicholls the most in May. I loved the ‘one day a year’ concept and look forward to seeing the movie.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot and Ellis Island by Kate Kerrigan were my most popular reviews this month. Thanks to those who left comments, I’m slowly replying. Henrietta Lacks and Michael Palin were popular search terms. Of course, there are the wonderfully odd search terms I get:

  • girl island war ireland
  • bad 1960s advertising
  • famous australian ‘freemasons’
  • goaty creatures (Yes, I like Shaun Micallef too)
  • pacific island of oom
  • giant ferragamo installation
  • foods mentioned in the book the immortal soul of henrietta lacks
  • cathy, a triple amputee
  • no, her grandmother said, hearing her teary confession, kissing does not make babies–neither does it make ladies. (Which book is this from?!)

Did you have good reading month in May? What were your favourites?

6 responses to “May’s Musings

  1. I’d be interested is seeing your thoughts on Sputnik Sweetheart (if you’re taking persuasion!) as it’s on my wishlist

    • Must read that SOON! I’ve recently read another Japanese translation called Villain by Shichi Yoshida – it was fantastic, add it to your list! (Review will come soon).

  2. Love the random/funny search terms – I get the most ridiculous ones sometimes. I’m always like “how does that have anything to do with one of my blogs???”

    looking foward to more reviews :)

  3. Hahaha, those search terms! :D

    I really want to read Henrietta Lacks! My library is so slow, might have to buy my own copy.

    Have a wonderful June :)

    • I’m so slow at replying – I think half of my holiday this week will be blog catching up!
      Henrietta Lacks is so good, I’d pick up anything else Rebecca Skloot writes in a second.
      I’ve had a great book buying month so far, but a little less on the reading side.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

