Top Gear: The Official Annual 2012 by Top Gear

A quick rundown…The year that was 2011, Top Gear style.

Strengths: Always funny, with some great pictures.

Weaknesses: It’s designed for kids (the puzzles were a bit too easy for me)

Why I read it: Big Top Gear fan

Pages: 64

Published: 2011

Publisher: Penguin UK

Rating: 8 out of 10

If you liked this, try: The Big Book of Top Gear 2011 – aimed at a (young at heart) adult audience

I bought this when I purchased A Top Gear Christmas – a sort of a Top Gear buying spree you might call it! Sadly, I was not quite as enamoured with this book – here’s why:

1. I’m about 20 years too old for it

This book is definitely targeted towards young boys – while it is funny, the humour is a little more simple and a little less rude. There’s several activities that would amuse a younger version of myself (even though I’m a girl) – a word search, a maze, a Snakes and Ladders – like game and a poster of very fast cars.

2. It’s an exceptionally fast read

At only 64 pages, you could read this very quickly.

3. There’s a lot of picture stories that are episodes of the show

When I was young, I enjoyed those photo stories / photo comics that came with English girls’ magazines annuals. However, when they’re a straight rehash of an episode it’s not quite as fun (unless you missed the episode, which can be quite easy to do over here because of the programming or that it started 20 minutes late and the DVD recorder cut out – but I digress).

This is just a very light book that should just be borrowed from your younger cousin or library. Having paid for it, it wasn’t quite as fun for me. However, I have donated it to my local library so everyone can share the fun!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

