Mailbox Monday 25/6/12: A lot of parcels!

One day I’d like to test the theory that being on holidays does make you spend more. I know that I buy a lot more (probably because I shop a lot more!) However, I can’t blame holidays for all of these purchases as some of them were bought when I was doing some extra work using the slowest website in the world and the online shopping world called to me…

The first parcel to arrive was serendipitous, just before my holiday began. It was a copy of Life! Death! Prizes! by Stephen May from the kind, wonderful people at Bloomsbury. I’m looking forward to starting this as the title is very intriguing!


The second lot of books came all the way from the UK. Two Persephone Classics, Cheerful Weather for the Wedding by Julia Strachey and Mariana by Monica Dickens. Apparently Cheerful Weather will be released as a movie this year, which will be really interesting! Don’t you love those covers!


I also finally got my hands on a copy of Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. I was going to buy a copy in Singapore, but I couldn’t reach the shelf it was on! (And I was too embarrassed to ask for help!) The cover is a little different to others but it’s the content that counts!

Lastly, I walked into the ABC Shop and got a couple of neat bargains – Me and Mr Booker by Cory Taylor and Comrades by Dom Knight. I’m sure Comrades will be just as funny as Disco Boy. Me and Mr Booker has a gorgeous cover – I’ve seen some different ones but this is my favourite.

I’m ashamed to say that I’m listening for the parcel post van as I write this for this week’s purchases! How was your week in books?

Don’t forget to visit Burton Book Review who is our host for June for more book love!

18 responses to “Mailbox Monday 25/6/12: A lot of parcels!

  1. I find the opposite Sam, I tend to buy more when things are busy at work – I am constantly telling myself I deserve treats! The worst times for me are weeks when I am on night shifts when I tend to have a big splurge to cheer myself up. Looks like you got a great haul this week. I’m especially interested in Life! Death! Prizes! – really like the cover and the title gives nothing away!

    • You definitely need extra TLC for night shifts – I hate them. In fact, when I’m called in at nights, I spend all my money on things I don’t need, but want! I’ve gotten some lovely shoes that way :)

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

