Mailbox Monday 16/12/13

Rose City Reader is our Mailbox Monday host this month. Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia as a way of sharing your new books and having fun at the same time. The future of Mailbox Monday is up for review – vote in the polls here.

It’s been a stinker of a week here – temperatures of 38-40˚C (over 100˚F) have slowed nearly everyone down (except for the Australian bowlers, who look like reclaiming the Ashes 3-0 [cricket] as I write). Pretty much the only occupation that doesn’t involve being incredibly hot is reading – and going shopping.

I did have a good week in terms of books (the parcel post man is working very hard at the moment) – two from publishers, one prize and one of my own (birthday bonus at Dymocks -$10 off my next book).

The week started with the copy of the new Nora Roberts book, Dark Witch arriving in the mail. This was a prize in the ARRA Christmas raffles – thanks to Hachette, who sponsored this prize. Now, I’ve never read Nora Roberts but Mum is always buying her books! Is this a good one to start with? It’s the first in a new trilogy and looks a little spooky…

I then received a copy of Unleashing Mr Darcy by Teri Wilson from Harlequin. This is a fun retelling of Pride and Prejudice in a modern era with dog shows as the centrepiece! It will be released in January 2014 in Australia.

I spent my birthday bonus from Dymocks on Harriet Evans’ Not Without You, which has one of the most gorgeous covers I’ve seen. I’m a sucker for narratives that entwine past and present (you may have guessed this already).


I certainly wasn’t expecting parcel delivery on a Sunday morning, but there was a surprise in store – a copy of The Grass Castle by Karen Viggers. This is a February 2014 Australian release (so please don’t go looking for it just yet) featuring the outback and you guessed – past and present colliding. Thanks Allen and Unwin and The Reading Room!


Thanks to this mailbox, I now have set reading plans for 2014! What plans (if any) have you made for reading in 2014?

14 responses to “Mailbox Monday 16/12/13

  1. I have seen a few of these before, but I think the one I’m most intrigued by, which is new to me, is Not Without You. It just has such an intriguing cover, and I too tend to enjoy book that combine the present with the past. Happy reading!

  2. Ha, I’ve been reading and shopping lately for the opposite reason – it’s so darned cold! Hope you enjoy your new books. I love the look of Not Without You.

  3. That is hot! I’ve been enjoying the chilly (for us) weather here. All your books look pretty great to me. Not Without You especially caught my eye. Happy reading!

  4. We are experiencing hot weather too, so I know how you feel. I read Nora Roberts both as herself and as J.D Robb and enjoy her books. Does your Mum like scary books? This one looks a bit scary. I look forward to reading what she says.

  5. I am interested in the Nora Roberts one, although I have been disappointed with her books in the past. Some are very good, but a lot of them are just about middling.

  6. Our postal service is delivering on Sunday too (well, in Chicago they are) and I was surprised to see the truck stop on my block. I thought I was the only person that hadn’t read a Nora Roberts book yet. Good to know I have some company.

    I envy some of your heat because we are sooo cold here with daily sub-freezing temps. It’s a month early for this type of weather so mentally I’m not prepared yet!

  7. Such fun books! I have Undressing Mr. Darcy, but I’m not even sure if it’s the same author as Unleashing Mr. Darcy. Those kind of books usually just make me want to reread the original, but we’ll see how they turn out. ;)

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

