2014…new books & challenges

I managed to read 113 books in 2013, a personal best for me (never having cracked the 100 mark before). Now that we’re done and dusted, what lies ahead for Sam Still Reading in 2014?

Obviously books (although it seems on Instagram, people prefer pictures of home cooked food and birds)! One of my biggest ‘problems’ is that I like reading about books and buying books nearly as much as reading them. So the first thing to do is keep reading books that I buy and perhaps looking at more electronic copies. (Or, just buying a few more bookcases). You can probably tell that I’m not too keen on changing my habits – so let’s just say that resolution one is to reduce the TBR pile. Fortunately, there’s a challenge for that – thanks to the bloggers who alerted me to the 2014 TBR Pile Reading Challenge hosted at Bookish. My level will be 31-40 books (Sweet Summer Fling) from my pile, published in 2013 or earlier.

I also noticed that I read a lot of Australian writers in 2014 – especially women. So I’ll be joining the Australian Women Writers Challenge in 2014. I’ll be aiming for Franklin level – 10 writers. This is not to say that I don’t love Australian men (writers or not, nudge nudge wink wink) so if there’s an Australian Men Writers Challenge out there, do let me know!

Of course, I’ll still be reading new release fiction and non-fiction (one of my addictions), whether it be from my own purchases or from publishers! There are loads of fantastic books coming out this year. Here are some of my picks from what I’ve heard/read…wonder how many I will end up reading?

  • Before We Met – Lucie Whitehouse (a marriage with secrets and questions)
  • The One Plus One – Jojo Moyes (sure this will be a tearjerker)
  • Nora Webster – Colm Toibin (set ten years after Brooklyn)
  • Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and the Year of His Pilgrimage – Haruki Murakami (it’s going to be crazy and full of unanswered questions but beautiful)
  • The Paying Guests – Sarah Waters (certain to be detailed and intricate)
  • Outback Blaze – Rachael Johns (the second in the Bunyip Bay series)
  • The Wife, the Maid, and the Mistress by Ariel Lawhon (the end of the Jazz Age…can’t wait!)
  • Frog Music – Emma Donoghue (a San Francisco murder mystery)

There are also new titles from favourite popular authors, including:

  • Ken Follett
  • Jodi Picoult
  • Nick Hornby (about a 1960s TV sitcom)

Are you excited about any of these? Will you be setting yourself any reading challenges in 2014?

28 responses to “2014…new books & challenges

  1. Oh my goodness, the TBR challenge is precisely what I need. My “excuse” for buying books (and bringing home lots of free ones) is that I “need” them for my classroom library…even though I don’t have my own classroom yet.
    Thanks for posting!

    • I understand! I bought a book that had a chapter devoted to a principle in one of my uni subjects…and then didn’t read it until after the exam!
      (My mum is a retired teacher and she still has a lot of classroom resources even though she swears she’s through with teaching!)

  2. I admire your number of books that you have read. That is more than 2 a week, amazing. I really intend to try and read more this year. Perhaps I need to set aside a time each day that is reading time and stick to it.

  3. Looking forward to reading the Colm Toibin – he is such a wonderful writer, and excellent at writing female characters. I’m challenging myself to read one non-fiction book a month (it’s something I tend to neglect in favour of fiction) but aside from that I have no challenges planned. May have to tackle the TBR again at some point! I’m impressed at the number of books you read last year, I tend to read around one a week on average I think – it seems I’m quite easily distracted so if I manage to keep up the same pace I’ll be quite happy. Happy reading for 2014 and good luck with the challenges!

    • Good luck with the non-fiction reading Jennifer! My number of books is going to suffer when I change work sites, so I’m bragging while I still can. I’ll be back to 1 a week soon.

  4. Nice list! I also want to read the new Jojo Moyes. I didn’t know Emma Donoghue had a new book out. She’s rathre versatile! Her previous book was historical fiction.

    Happy reading this year.

  5. How do you manage to read that many books and work, socialize, meet up with friends??? Or maybe you just don’t sleep… I am really amazed, please give me you secret ;)
    I read 27 books this year and I really felt that with everything going on it’s tough to read more than that (well maybe a bit more than that, I must admit I was somewhat lazy at some point).
    Well done anyway and carry on the good work

      • Thanks for answering to me. Am kinda struggeling with Anne Karenina for the moment. Well struggeling is not the right word. Am reading AK very slowly and it’s a first for me.It doesn’t feel like a book you can rush through Have you read it?

  6. I didn’t know some of this challenges, I have to take a look!
    I would like to participate in the Australian female writers; I think I can discover lots of wonderful titles, apart from Kate Morton ;)
    Good luck with your challenges!!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

