Mailbox Monday 27/1/14

A new year means a new home for Mailbox Monday. Originally created by Marcia of To Be Continued, you can find the linky list all year round at Mailbox Monday.

I seem to only talk about the weather here, but it’s still really hot. Hopefully we’ll get some rain soon, but with each weather forecast the possibility looks more remote. You know it’s hot when nobody wants to go outside at lunchtime, not even for a coffee! (Coffee is the essential fuel of my workplace).

It was very fortunate that the parcel post man dropped by this week as everyone’s getting rather lethargic and lacking motivation. What could be better on a hot summer’s day than having books delivered to you?

The first book was very timely – the second book in Victoria Purman’s Boys of Summer trilogy, Someone Like You. This book follows Ry’s friend and colleague Dan and Julia’s friend Lizzie. After Dan’s horrific accident, he finds himself back in the small coastal town of Middle Point. Completely changed, he holes himself away from the world. But Lizzie wants to bring back the Dan she knew – can she do it? I’m really looking forward to this after loving Nobody But Him – a wonderful coastal romance with spice. Thanks to Harlequin Australia for the great book!

The second book was from Allen and Unwin and The Reading Room – thank you! Don’t Know What You’ve Got Till It’s Gone by Gemma Crisp is a fun story about Nina, editor of a gossip magazine. I love this kind of story (perhaps I am a frustrated editor deep inside?) so this will be a perfect summer read. (This is also Crisp’s second book about Nina – the first is Be Careful What You Wish For, which is waiting patiently on my ereader).

The last book was my own purchase, at An Evening With David Sedaris. I bought this lovely new edition of Me Talk Pretty One Day (celebrating 40 years of Abacus and with a new introduction by David Sedaris himself). Of course, I did hang around after the show for David to sign it! He’s a lovely guy, very talented and exceptionally funny.

Well, I’m off to refill my cup of tea as it’s a holiday here today (Australia Day). Have a lovely week!

16 responses to “Mailbox Monday 27/1/14

  1. What a gorgeous edition of David Sedaris’ book. And it’s signed – how lovely!

    The Gemma Crisp book looks really fun too. Enjoy!

  2. We have weather the opposite of yours. Schools are closed today because of the cold temps – I’d like to win the coastal getaway mentioned on the Victoria Purman book cover :)

  3. Well, talk about lives of opposites: you with heat, me with a day off of school due to wind chills below 25 degrees Fahrenheit! Love your autographed book by Sedaris, what a wonderful sentiment he wrote inside! Have a lovely week.

  4. Happy Australia Day! I wish I could send you some of our cold. We are setting record low daytime temps here in the Midwestern US. Schools are closed and people are being cautioned to stay home. Right now it’s -2F/-20C and that’s air temp. I’m dreaming of summer and enjoy seeing book covers and photo with flowers. :)

  5. That is cool that you met Sedaris. I hope you enjoy the books.
    Your other books do look so suitable for summer… even as we prepare for possible snow here in Florida! :-) I hope you enjoyed your holiday and have a great reading week!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

