Mailbox Monday 21/7/14

I had quite a lazy week, as I had a couple of days off. It was very luxurious to be able to read into the depths of the night and sleep in the next morning! I also did a bit of book shopping, as you’ll see below. But first to the books that arrived in the letterbox…

Mothers Grimm by Danielle Wood (released in September) was from the kind folk at Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room. It’s a retelling of fairy tales with a twist, focusing on the mothers. Thank you!

I also received several books that I’d ordered online. Unfortunately, one of them was the wrong title and at the time of writing, I’m still waiting for a response from the company. The correct titles were The Virgins by Pamela Erens, about a boarding school and the seemingly perfect couple; The Lemon Grove by Helen Walsh is steaming up Twitter, as it’s about a hot summer and a forbidden relationship and The Dead Wife’s Handbook by Hannah Beckerman, about the premature death of a woman and how she watches her family from beyond.

I also did the rounds of some of my favourite shops, leaving with Bittersweet by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore.
I’d heard a lot about this from US bloggers, so I thought I’d try this tale of wealth and privilege between two college students that has a lot running under the surface. I also bought The Lego Book by Daniel Lipkowitz to satisfy my interest in the history of Lego – how things have changed! I also found a half used gift card in my bag, which I used to buy The Storms of War by Kate Williams. This is yet another book I’d heard about on Twitter, and is set amongst the de Witt family as World War I breaks out. Finally, I continued my passion for The Chatsfield series with Book 1, Sheikh’s Scandal by Lucy Munroe (rich sheikh stays at the Chatsfield London and becomes interested in the chambermaid – passion or scandal?) and Socialite’s Gamble by Michelle Conder (Cara is used as part of a bet in a poker game, but Aidan will win to protect her and discover the hurt woman underneath).

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

11 responses to “Mailbox Monday 21/7/14

  1. Hi Sam,

    ‘The Storms Of War’ is a definite for my reading list, as are the rest of the books by this new to me author.

    I have read a book with a similar premise to that of ‘The Dead Wife’s Handbook’ and thoroughly enjoyed it, so this is another possibility for my reading list.

    Who among us can resist the urge to build something, if faced with a tub of Lego, no matter what our age!!

    You have some great finds this week, I hope that you enjoy them all,

    Yvonne.

  2. I like that cover of Bittersweet! Hope you enjoy The Lemon Grove- it is quite a page-turner.The Virgins and The Dead-Wife’s Handbook caught my eye too. Awesome mailbox! Happy reading, Sam :)

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

