Getting stuck into some challenges…

After some thought, I’m going to have a go at a few challenges this year. I hate having what to read dictated to me, but these challenges sound flexible and enjoyable to me!

2011 Aussie Author Challenge

This runs over the course of 2011. I’m going to try Tourist level (3 books by 3 different authors). In fact, I’ve even got one review done – Kate Morton is Australian and I’ve read The Distant Hours. I could probably go more (I have Shaun Micallef, Bryce Courtenay and Peter Yeldham books to read), but this is not the only challenge I want to do!

Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge 2011

Again, I think I’ll take it easy with this one and try Hajime (one book). It seems that all the city bookstores are out of all of Murakami’s books except Norwegian Wood and The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, so perhaps there are lots of people participating! (Not to mention Australians are yet to see Murakami ebooks).

The Sense and Sensibility Bicentenary Challenge 2011

 

Wow, 200 years since this book was written! I have a beautiful copy given to me one Christmas that I haven’t read yet. So I will be participating as a Neophyte, aiming to read the original.

Historical Fiction Challenge 2011

You’ve probably guessed already that I enjoy historical fiction, so I’m hoping this is an easy challenge for me! I’m going to attempt Struggling the Addiction (10 books).

2011 Reading From My Shelves Project

This challenge is aimed at reducing the amount of unread books on your shelf and then passing on the book to someone else. Not a problem for me, as I almost always pass my books on to friends or family. I’m going to attempt 20 physical books this year (not going to count ebooks…yet).

I hope I can do it…let’s revisit in a few months! What challenges are you trying this year?

10 responses to “Getting stuck into some challenges…

  1. Good luck on all your challenges! I did a similar version of the get the books off your shelf challenge last year, and made it to ten. I wanted to do 12, but at least I cleared some space :)

  2. The only one of these that I am not signing up for is the Reading From Your Shelves Project, although I still need to do my Murakami signup post;

    Thanks for joining in on the Historical Fiction Reading challenge.

    • I know the feeling – I was thinking that I should do ebook challenges, crime challenges, chick lit challenges but I need to limit myself if I want to do anything else besides read this year!

  3. I hope you enjoy the Haruki Murakami reading challenge, he’s a favourite of mine. Which one are you planning on reading? I read Kafka on the Shore recently and it’s been my favourite so far.

    Just to let you know I’ve given you an award

    • Thank you!
      I really don’t know which Murakami to read, there seems to be a distinct lack of his books in the bookstores at the moment and at the libraries! I think it will come down to whichever one I can grab!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

