Achievements in April

April was a better month for reading for me, even though I wasn’t on holidays any longer! There were a few public holidays (Easter, Anzac Day) which helped to bolster my book total for the month – eight books, not bad. I had a good mix of fiction and non-fiction too, with an ebook thrown in for good measure (Kobo, you really, really need to have a sale. My wishlist is getting very long!)

How am I going with my challenges? For some I have a lot of progress to make and we’re already a third of the way through the year!

2011 Aussie Author Challenge

My challenge: Tourist level (3 books by 3 different authors)

I’ve already completed this challenge (back in February), but I didn’t read any Aussie authors this much. Very bad. Need to improve, especially as I had a long conversation with one of my patients regarding Bryce Courtenay’s books and how good they are!

Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge 2011

My challenge: Hajime (one book)

The Elephant Vanishes and Sputnik Sweetheart  are on my bookshelf now. I’m waiting for the Murakami mood to hit me. I’m feeling like reading very realistic books at the moment.

The Sense and Sensibility Bicentenary Challenge 2011

My challenge: Neophyte (read the original)

No progress as yet. Michael Palin’s Halfway to Hollywood is taking me a while to read to/from work.

Historical Fiction Challenge 2011

My challenge: Struggling the Addiction (10 books).

I had only two books to go on this challenge.  In April, I read:

So now complete! I’m still going to track my progress though.

 2011 Reading From My Shelves Project

My challenge: 20 paper books (am excluding ebooks).

23 paper books! I’ve passed my target, although I’m quite sure that I’ve bought 20-odd books this year!

My reads were a mixed bag this month, so I don’t feel that I can really single one out for the title of ‘best’ read. I do highly recommend The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot for a non-fiction read. I enjoyed all my books, so no disappointing reads for me.

Thanks to everyone who stopped by, I had a busy month which I’m tickled pink with! A lot of you wanted to look at my holiday pictures or read about Bill Bryson’s At Home (also a popular search term).

I think a lot of you are excited about the next book in The Carrie Diaries, seeing as it was a popular search term this month. Despite my previous reservations, I’m going to read it. I want to know how Carrie met Miranda and Samantha.

Some of the odd search terms that came up in April were:

  • finger turning pages (instructions for?)
  • historical fiction book measurements (is there a standard for this?)
  • Ken Follett’s religion (you’d need to ask him)
  • buku fiksi (Indonesian for fiction books)
  • pretty literature (It’s all in the eye of the beholder)
  • the book glory- girl with serious issues (Serious issues?)
  • Jeremy Clarkson birthday (April 11)
  • Does jeremy actually do the covers of the big book of top gear? (Well, there is a lot of explosions…)
  • What book is Colleen Mccullough currently writing now as of 19th april 2011 (Again, ask her!)

How was your April? Read any great books?

6 responses to “Achievements in April

  1. Wow you did well! I read only a few in April, but my favourite was Jane Eyre. I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to finally read it, it makes me want to read more classics more often.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

