July’s…somethings (or What I Read Last Month)

I did run out of alliteration for months in July! There is just a lack of J words around. It’s been a cold month for being away from the heater, so I am still a bit behind in my reviews. I did publish seven reviews though, including some ARCs. I still have some ARCs to read though (mainly thanks to Net Galley), so hopefully I’ll finish those in August.

My favourite read for the month was Villain by Shuichi Yoshida, a translation from the Japanese about a murder on a mountain and a group of young people who visit an online dating site. Suspense and mystery combined brilliantly.

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan seemed to polarise people – you either love it or hate it. I’m the latter, it was well thought out but just not my cup of tea.

Now for my challenges…

2011 Aussie Author Challenge

My challenge: Tourist level (3 books by 3 different authors)

Only one this month (The Gruen Transfer by Jon Casimir), bringing my total to six books.

Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge 2011

My challenge: Hajime (one book)

I’ve read Sputnik Sweetheart, review in August.

The Sense and Sensibility Bicentenary Challenge 2011

My challenge: Neophyte (read the original)

Completed last month. My review is here.

Historical Fiction Challenge 2011

My challenge: Struggling the Addiction (10 books).

Still on 14 – none read this month, very unusual for me!

2011 Reading From My Shelves Project

My challenge: 20 paper books (am excluding ebooks).

Now onto 36 for the year but still buying far too many books.

Funny and odd search terms this month:

  • best travel documentary michael palin jeremy clarkson
  • goodwin my last duchess the hummingbird man
  • missing book sam
  • my nissan x trail won’t crank over
  • erline jenschke in fredericksburg, texas
  • how to connect the customer in the grand hyatt singapore
  • food mentioned in henrietta lacks
  • recipies (sic) for a visit from the goon squad

Everyone wanted to know about A Visit from the Goon Squad this month, the most popular post and search term.

Whether it’s summer or winter in your part of the world, did you do much reading last month?

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “July’s…somethings (or What I Read Last Month)

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

