All over August

Even though I managed to read eight books in August, I think I spent nearly as much time reading as I did buying books. (More to come in September) I am still behind in reviews; sitting at a desk job (only temporary) in front of a computer all day keeps me away from the computer at night!

I read three ARC galleys from Net Galley - I think they are my new library. Although I’ve now read my original galleys, I’ve asked and kindly received more (except for The Language of Flowers, was refused for that one). These look very exciting, so stay tuned!

My favourite read for the month was The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes, a heartbreaking novel about lost love. Cheers to Net Galley again for giving me the opportunity to read a book I’ve never have picked up otherwise. I’ve found a new favourite author! I enjoyed all the books I read and reviewed in August, so there were no ‘bad’ books for me this month. (Except for the paper I’m currently reviewing!)

The challenges, most of them are now complete…

2011 Aussie Author Challenge

Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge 2011

My challenge: Hajime (one book)

I’ve read Sputnik Sweetheart, but not happy with my review. It needs some work before I post it. I’ll also be reading 1Q84 this month, thanks to Readings Books!

The Sense and Sensibility Bicentenary Challenge 2011

Historical Fiction Challenge 2011

2011 Reading From My Shelves Project

My challenge: 20 paper books (am excluding ebooks).

Now up to 41 for the year but I’ve probably bought that many this year, thanks to book fire sales.

Weird and wonderful terms in August:

  • new books released india (never been sorry, can’t help)
  • mad men paper dolls
  • sister by rosamund lupton is awful
  • michael schumacher the stig autobiography (he’s not, actually)
  • famous australian freemasons
  • kinokuniya thailand david nicholls
  • car fixed club x trail
  • nissan x trail dies out
  • dawn french naked
  • why aren’t penny vincenzi novels on kobo (they are!)
  • школьница 3 (schoolgirl 3)
  • number of words in shaun micallefs’ smithereens

Most people were looking for Rosamund Lupton’s Sister though.

How did you go in August? Was it too hot or too cold to read?

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “All over August

  1. Not familiar with Readings Books, but if I’m correct in thinking that you won Murakami’s new book from them? I’m most jealous! In a good way! My own dearly bought edition won’t be arriving stateside until October 21, it’s release date for the US. :(

    • It’s a loan really – they are sending an uncorrected proof around Australia to selected bookworms and I’m one! It should arrive next week and I’m busily preparing meals so I don’t need to cook – just read!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

