Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami

A quick rundown… The story of a man secretly in love with his female friend, who loves another. She then disappears.

Strengths: Murakami’s beautiful prose, the haunting scenes that stay in your memory.

Weaknesses: Some might say there are similarities to Norwegian Wood. Is that a bad thing?

Why I read it: Love Murakami’s work.

Pages: 229

Published: 2002

Publisher: Vintage

Setting: Japan, Greece

Rating: 8.5 out of 10

If you liked this, try: Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

I enjoy Haruki Murakami’s books, but I don’t make any claim to understand and offer insight into some of the more surreal points of his narrative (such as Tom down the well in The Wind-up Bird Chronicle). I chose Sputnik Sweetheart to read because it looked somewhat linear, more in the vein of Norwegian Wood. Well, I was right and I was wrong. Some odd things do happen in this book but it does remind me somewhat of Norwegian Wood. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing because I loved Norwegian Wood and would rank it as one of my favourite reads. (I watched the film trailer in Kinokuniya NAC many, many times). It’s just that the painful, silent suffering after a girl the male protagonist can’t have was a bit familiar this time round – this was a theme in both Norwegian Wood and The Wind-up Bird Chronicle. Others have likened this book to The Great Gatsby and I suppose there is a similar feeling, but I’d say that Sputnik Sweetheart is a lot stronger in its portrayal of longing, love and loss.

The story is told in the first person, but with a twist – the male protagonist tells us about his friend, Sumire (Violet) that he’s a little in love with and her love affair with Miu, a woman. He’s more of a narrator (especially later on) than an active character. The first half of the book plays it very straight and linear, describing the relationship blossoming between Sumire and Miu until they go away together. In Greece, Sumire disappears and doesn’t come back. Miu calls for help, but Sumire can’t be found. Miu then explains why she can’t fall in love with Sumire, which is where a ferris wheel and the surreal come into play. This helped to portray the loneliness and adrift feeling (I felt) of the characters once Miu had disappeared. Was the ferris wheel and Miu a symbol of Japanese culture – the society before the original? Maybe, maybe not. But it did make me think, even if I couldn’t work it out for sure.

The prose is as always, beautiful and magically able to convey the feelings, tones and emotions of each scene. Murakami and his translators are masters of this, especially the echoing feeling of loss and not being able to reach what you want that haunts this book.

A quick read; this satisfies my Murakami craving for now at least.

 I read this as part of the challenge this year – do join in!

16 thoughts on “Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami

Add yours

  1. i have a lot of questions about this book. I mean, the ending is somewhat hanging. i have no idea if that is Sumire who called or is she dead? Or did K committed suicide when he said they’re in the same world? what does that mean? & were they at the other world? or in the real world? somebody please helpp. thanx.

    1. I think Murakami likes to make us think and think…in regards to Sumire, I feel it could go either way. Perhaps K meant they were in similar positions – both have loved but not been loved in return.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: