The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

A quick rundown… A boy and his family move to a seaside town, where something very strange and Gothic is going on.

Strengths: Ruiz Zafon always tells original stories that have you captivated.

Weaknesses: This is meant to be a young adult book, but I found it a bit scary!

Why I read it: Loved The Shadow of the Wind.

Pages: 208

Published: 2010

Publisher: Phoenix

Setting: Spain

Rating: 8 out of 10

If you liked this, try: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

I absolutely loved The Shadow of the Wind with its Gothic elements and action-packed plot, so I eagerly bought this book when I saw it on sale. What I didn’t realise is that The Prince of Mist is intended for a younger audience and is a fairly quick read. However, the content of the book in my opinion is definitely not for children as it’s quite creepy and scary!
 
The story opens with similarities to The Shadow of the Wind, in that it is wartime in Spain and the protagonist is a young boy, Max. Max and the rest of his family move from the capital to a seaside town, but not all is as it seems. In the garden, there are strange statues that appear to be changing their poses daily. Max and his sister Alicia meet up with local boy Roland, who likes to dive down to a shipwreck that sank in mysterious circumstances. Their younger sister is later involved in a strange accident where the house seems to be playing tricks on them. However, Roland’s grandfather knows a lot more about how the ship went down and what’s wrong with the house Max lives in…
 
Once again, the translation from the Spanish brings out some beautiful prose and Carlos Ruiz Zafon certainly tells a intricate and detailed stoty (although not quite to the level of The Shadow of the Wind). However, I found this story quite scary as an adult (the changing of the statues to live beings was scary, as well the deals that Dr Kane was doing with young children)! Perhaps it is because the creepy Gothic angle may just have the possibility to happen…
 
I found this to be a very quick read and I hear that there could be a sequel in the works. Would I read it? Probably not – I’ll stick with the adult tales as the plot is less scary and more detailed.

7 responses to “The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

  1. I adored Shadow of the Wind so much that I wasn’t brave enough to read his follow up adult book because I was scared it wouldn’t live up to Shadow. I did however read one of his other YA books that came out recently and my fears were justified.

  2. Oooh, gothic? You got me :) I’ve only read his Shado of the wind but loved it so much I didn’t dare read his other works, I thought they could never compare.

  3. Wonderful items from you, man. I’ve be mindful your stuff prior to and you are just too fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which wherein you are saying it. You are making it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great web site.

  4. Very efficiently written post. It will be useful to anyone who utilizes it, including yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – i will definitely read more posts.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

