The Hang My Head in Shame Personal Challenge

I would say that I read a lot of books. A lot more than (most) of my friends and family. But there’s always a number of books that I read or hear about that I still haven’t got around to reading. It seems that everyone in the bloggisphere, the newspapers and on the train has read them. Do I nod intelligently when people discussed them, keeping my ignorance quiet or do I shout it out to the world? I’m compromising – I’m letting you know that I haven’t read these.

I hadn’t undertaken any challenges in 2012 for several reasons. The first being that I’ve gone back to uni and am studying by correspondence, so I wasn’t sure about the kind of impact it would have on my reading time. It hasn’t been too bad so far. The second reason is that I feel pressured by the need to tick off my challenges – I don’t like having things on the to-do list if they can be achieved with relative ease.

So I present to you, my head bowed, a list of books I want to read this year that everyone else has:

  1. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

    (I bought this from Borders. Enough said?)

  2. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

    (Was put off this one when someone I detested said I must read it. Haven’t even seen the movie).

  3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

    (An English class at school had to read this – not my class. We read Pride and Prejudice).

  4. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

    (This was bought from a physical Angus & Robertson store!)

  5. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

    (Had planned to read this earlier until a friend said it was the saddest book she’d ever read – and we were working in a pretty sad place at the time!)

  6. The Secret History by Donna Tartt

    (Not sure why I’ve never got around to this. It looks like something I’d really like).

  7. The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay

    (Going to blame this on Bryce writing this when I was still reading The Babysitters Club. I’ve read a lot of his more recent books, so this should be read too.)

  8. Bossypants by Tina Fey

    (Never watched 30 Rock but it seems like this is one of the most funny books out there).

     

What do you think? Have I picked a good list or should I retreat now?

10 thoughts on “The Hang My Head in Shame Personal Challenge

Add yours

  1. Looks like a great list to me! I think that you aren’t a proper book blogger if you don’t have stacks of unread books everywhere – at least that is my excuse and I am sticking to it.

    I bought Wolf Hall two and a half years ago (from Borders) and I think that Lovely Bones is a book that I bought on the 3 for 2 table when I first moved to Melbourne which would have been 10 years ago. I also bought Life of Pi at the same time and I haven’t actually read any of them!

    I have dozens of other books that could tell a similar tale of woe!

  2. Yes, The Kite Runner is a sad book but it is also wonderfully written. You won’t regret reading it.
    Great list and good luck with your challenge, though I don’t think you need to hang your head in shame.

  3. Hi Sam,
    You are too funny. I can totally relate to your feelings of “Oh, another one I need to read!” when you hear people raving about a good book. YOU’RE NOT ALONE. We’re only human…doing the best we can to read as much as we can. Your list looks good. The ones I’ve read and thought worthwhile were The Lovely Bones (sad), The Kite Runner (beautifully written), and To Kill A Mockingbird (one of my favorites!). I read Bossypants (because I think Tina Fey is funny), but the book was just o.k. Think of it this way…as avid readers, we will NEVER run out of good things to read…aren’t we LUCKY?!
    Beth 🙂

  4. I have a list like yours Sam – books I haven’t read that it feels like everyone else has. The Kite Runner is on my list, too and so is We Need to Talk About Kevin. The Hunger Games trilogy is also on my list. I think Tina Fey is great but for whatever reason I have no interest in reading Bossypants.

    I think if you want to read these books because they interest you, go for it! To Kill A Mockingbird is a fantastic book!

  5. To Kill a Mockingbird is good and The Secret History has great atmosphere. I thought The Kite Runner was ok. I read it after reading Atonement and Atonement had a similar theme and was a better book so The Kite Runner kind of suffered by comparison. Lovely Bones was all right. I haven’t read We Need to Talk About Kevin, but Lionel Shriver’s The Post-Birthday World was awesome.

  6. Pretty good list I think, don’t bother watching the movie of The Lovely Bones it is shocking compared to the movie, The Power of One is my favourite Bryce Courtenay book. I haven’t heard of Wolf Hall, off to look it up!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  7. I have a list like that too. I’ve only read one of the books on your list (Lovely Bones) although a few of them are on my shelves, waiting for their turn. Lovely Bones was good, but I read it before all the hype and the movie.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

