Mailbox Monday 9th April 2012: The Singapore Haul

Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house during the last week.

Be warned that Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Mailbox Monday is c ‘on tour’ and being hosted by Cindy’s Love Of Books
this month.

 

Singapore is a fantastic place for bookstores. I love that Kinokuniya is as full as a pub on Friday night and absolutely jam packed by 10:30am on a Saturday morning. I love that prologue sits in the same shopping centre as Louis Vuitton and that Times, Popular and Harris contain just as good ranges in a smaller area (plus the stationery! But that’s another topic for another day).

 

Despite the fact that I have a perfectly good ereader, some books were cheaper than the e version due to the strength of the Aussie dollar against the Singapore dollar. Some books were available in a small paperback format rather than the larger (and more expensive) format we get here. Some books were just new to me. I like having books as souvenirs from holidays!

 

Below is what I bought (and yes, my suitcase was underweight by 200g on the way home):

 


 

Top Row, L-R:

  • In 5 Easy Steps, Lum Kit-Wye: A light Singaporean chick lit. Looking at a well-thumbed copy in prologue, this made me laugh out loud!
  • Rules of Civility, Amor Towles: The story of a girl in New York City, 1938. Absolutely brilliant, watch for my review. I dropped everything and read and read…
  • The Sealed Letter, Emma Donoghue: I enjoyed Room, but reviews on this one don’t seem too good. Part of the Orange Prize long list.
  • Number 9 Dream, David Mitchell: This was about Japan and seemed quirky. Plus Times were refunding the GST (is this normal or do I look like a tourist?)

Bottom Row, L-R:

  • The Language of Flowers, Vanessa Diffenbaugh: This was so expensive at home – I thought. Then I looked at the junk mail and it was $10 at Big W. Oops.
  • Do No Harm, Carol Topolski: The red dot says I’ll like this if I like Sophie Hannah. Sounds interesting, about ‘bad’ doctors with ‘secrets’.
  • The Reader, Bernhard Schlink: No, haven’t seen the movie. But love the cover, part of Orion’s 20th year celebrations. (More on book series later).
  • Rival Passions, Zoe Miller: Light lady-lit about a big house/hotel, warring families etc. Technically ‘free’ because I bought it at the airport with my GST refund.

  • The Paris Wife, Paula McLain: Everyone’s read this but me. Another airport purchase.
  • A Different Sky, Meira Chand: About Singaporean history, from ‘local authors’ section of Kinokuniya.
  • Gillespie and I, Jane Harris: THIS BOOK IS BRILLIANT! MUST READ! I read this until my eyes hurt yesterday.

So that’s a very big mailbox! What did you get this week?

28 responses to “Mailbox Monday 9th April 2012: The Singapore Haul

  1. What an amazing haul of wonderful titles. I am listening to ‘Gillespie and I’ in audio right now, and all I want to do is tune out from the world and listen – alas I must surface quite often. It sounds like you had the same experience with ‘Rules of Civility’ as I did – it was like an addiction.

    PS: It’s been quite a while since I was in Singapore, but I do know what you mean by stationery!

    • I have a paper bag of stationery I bought and I would say I was a little bit more restrained. It’s so cheap!
      I’m trying to write my review for Rules of Civilty now, but I can’t seem to do it justice :(

  2. Huge mailbox! I hadn’t actually thought about places like Singapore being a good book shopping destination.

    I really need to read Gillespie and I. I liked Jane Harris’s first book!

    • Singapore is a great shopping destination overall. It’s also brilliant if you can read Chinese or Japanese as books/magazines are easy to get. There’s a whole mall devoted to books!

    • I hate those discrepancies between countries! I must have waited a year to get my hands on Oxygen by Carol Cassella (I think that’s the name). Is Book Depository or an eBook an option for you?

  3. Hi Sam,

    I really can’t believe that your suitcase was underweight with that little lot inside, did you leave everything else behind?

    I am a bit like yourself, I will read just about anything and everything, with the possible exception of science fiction, which I really just don’t get.

    All of your great titles were new to me, but I can’t see anything that I wouldn’t try, likewise nothing really jumped out at me as a must read.

    I am still very envious though, as I have been banned from bringing any more books into the house until I have cleared some of my TBR pile (last count in excess of 700). All I can say is … thank goodness for the Kindle, not a new book in sight!!!

    Enjoy your new books and have a great week,

    Yvonne

    • Hi Yvonne,
      I haven’t thought of anything I’ve left behind yet (but I did leave my body wash/old mascara/nearly empty shampoo) so that might have helped…a little!
      I don’t get science fiction either – maybe it’s because I work in science in real life, I just can’t make that leap.
      Your TBR count sounds a little better than mine – I need to get mine down before I move or people are going to discover my addiction!

  4. I love that the book store is as crowded as a pub! I listened to The Paris Wife – loved it. Now I’m going to look up Gillespie and I. Great mailbox!

  5. You got some fantastic books while you were on holiday. Isn’t that crazy how some books can be cheaper? I notice that when I go to the US. Enjoy your goodies and happy reading. Thanks for linking to your IMM, Looking forward to reading your blog.

  6. I loved the Reader and I still haven’t seen the movie. I so want to read The Language of Flowers! lots of good stuff here.

  7. Nice haul. If I bought that many books on a trip my luggage would definitely be overweight!

    I haven’t read The Paris Wife yet either, but I do have a copy of the book. Language of Flowers was awesome.

  8. I do the same thing but in Chennai where books are really cheap compared to Sri Lanka. Enjoy them all. You’ve got some great books.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

