Book Series – An occasional (but growing) series of blog posts

Wow, that’s a long name for a blog post! First of all, I’d like to apologise for not posting much lately. Those of you who follow me on Twitter may have noticed that I haven’t been well. Unfortunately, a simple cold turned into more, requiring a hospital stay and a lot of sleep and meds. I think I’m on the mend now though and have an attention span of more than five minutes!

Before I got sick, I had been planning a series of blog posts about all the lovely book series that are available. Are these series a ploy to get us to buy more physical books in ereading times? Who cares, they look so pretty and collectable! I think my fancy for book series started with collecting The Babysitters Club and Sweet Valley Twins/High/University as a kid. I love that I can continue this well into adulthood. I love to have matching spines lined up beautifully and I’m proud to read such a good looking book in public!

I’ll be going through several series, including the ones above:

  • Popular Penguins
  • Virago Modern Classics 30th Anniversary Editions
  • Faber and Faber Secrets and Lies
  • Vintage Classics
  • Twenty Years of Orion
  • 21 Vintage Classics

There’s also some new series which I haven’t got to yet. The first one is the lovely Text Classics series, which Text assures me will be out for me to buy in May when I’m in Melbourne bookshopping for work. If you watch the site’s front page, you might even see a tweet from me!


Picador have also released a series for their 40th anniversary, 12 books with lovely black and white covers.

Are you a fan of book series? Do matching covers cause you to declare undying love?

6 responses to “Book Series – An occasional (but growing) series of blog posts

  1. I am a sucker for a series by the same author, but not so much for a series like the ones that you mention. One exception is the Penguin Great Food books which I have a few of just because they are so pretty!

    • Going to have to have a look at the Great Food books – especially if there’s a baking one!
      I think I will get sucked into the Netherwood series – the first book really got me in!

  2. I love to have my books by an author matching. I get annoyed when the cover style changes. I even wrote a post about it when I got a couple of books by authors I owned books by but couldn’t get in the same style. Here it is

    Also I like the covers of he text classics, I’m a sucker for the pretty!

    And glad you’re feeling better

    • Yes! I like them the same too – if I want an author’s back catalogue, I try to get them at the same time (because they keep updating them all the time -e.g. Jodi Picoult)!
      The Text Classics are also out in ebook format, but the yellow is so nice!

  3. LUURRRVVVE matching covers!!
    Also really liking the Text Classics – I’ve only read ‘My Brilliant Career’ from there and will be putting the rest on my TBR (not that I need anymore…)

    Glad to hear you’re on the mend :)

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

