Revlon Lip Butters

I may not reveal this side very often on this blog, but in addition to being a book lover, I’m also a makeup junkie. My favourite brands are MAC, Dior, Clinique and Kiehl’s. I usually pass Revlon by – I don’t mind their mascaras or nail polishes, but they’re not Holy Grail (HG) must-have status for me. However, the internet cosmetic world was set on fire (think 1Q84 or Fifty Shades of Grey or even Harry Potter proportions) last year with the arrival of these babies. They were touted as being moisturising as a balm, yet with the colour of a lipstick. That’s highly unusual!

Stupidly, I passed these right on by when I was in Singapore. They only received eight colours (compared to Australia’s 20), but I was more excited about finding Shiseido’s Aqualabel skin care in Watson’s (drugstore/pharmacy). Oh well. I’m kicking myself for looking quickly, but not closely enough!

I finally tried these today and came home with three! The fourth was a GWP (gift with purchase) which is now on at Myer (department store). Be careful though, as there’s two GWP sets to choose from and only one has the Lip Butter (Pink Truffle).

Here they are all lined up – Gumdrop, Peach Parfait, Pink Truffle and Lollipop. The colour of the casing reflects the lipstick (MAC, are you listening?). I know that those ‘New’ stickers are going to bother me very soon and they’ll come off.

 

Here are the bases with the numbers – are there any differences between names in different countries?

Being a horrible gloomy day (yet with little rain), I tried to do a swatch for you under a fairly white fluorescent light. Better swatches are readily available through Google searching. I realised how hard it is to take a focussed picture with one hand! I’m a swatching newbie. For the record, my skin tone is MAC NC20 and Shu Uemura 784 in Face Architect foundation.

From top to bottom: Pink Truffle (more of a brownish mauve on me, fine sparkle although not gritty), Peach Parfait (pinkish peach with gold sparkle, noticeable but slight grittiness when wearing), Gumdrop (pale mauve with no sparkles) and Lollipop (pigmented fuschia). These are one swipe each and the right side is a little heavier because that’s where I started from!

These are moisturising, although not as much as a balm. I’d rank the moisturising level up there with Clinique Chubby Sticks. The formula feels a lot like Dior Addict Extreme, which is great, but not as pigmented (not so great). I love the Dior Addict Extreme lipsticks, and if I was looking for a very strong colour that lasted longer than a few hours, I’d pick it. But the Revlon lip butters are lovely for the price, come in a range of colours and aren’t drying.

Have you tried the Lip Butters? Which shades would you recommend?

 

8 thoughts on “Revlon Lip Butters

Add yours

  1. Oooh I’ve been wanting to try these out. I want the Peach Parafit shade (I think it’s the one that Emma Stone wears in the promo poster?) but it’s always sold out! Maybe I’d be better going for the Dior addict though, my lips are quite colourless without product so I might be better off with a similar thing with more pigment.

    1. I think Peach Parfait would show up well if your lips are a bit lighter – I have been known to ‘lighten’ my lips with concealer to get a more peachy colour with it. Dior Addict Extreme doesn’t have as many colours yet though 😦 Not sure what the Australian RRP is of them yet…I’ll wait for a GWP.

  2. This is exactly what I’m looking for. And now I’m wondering why I don’t know about these and I’m still using lip balm and then adding color or using gooey lip gloss. A quick online search turns up a choice of 20 colors and reasonably priced at local drugstores.

    1. They are really reasonably priced in the US I believe. They are a little more expensive (no, a lot more!) but gift with purchases and discounts help a lot. I’ve bought another one since writing this post!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

