Countdown to Christmas: Reading Reflections on the First Half of 2012

Yes, it’s getting close to Christmas. You know how I can tell? Well, the first signs in Australia are the toy sales. Every store is having a toy sale – lay by now, pick up for Christmas! Plus there’s a lot of articles in magazines of late about Christmas in July, which means that in the depths of winter, we can finally have a hot Christmas dinner if we choose. Does this happen in the northern hemisphere?

It’s a long time since I sat down and began to type reading reflections. I knew that I’d be busier in 2012, as I decided to start a uni course by correspondence (the course isn’t offered in Australia, only in the UK) while working full time. What I didn’t know is that I’d end up with pneumonia as well as injuring myself! In the second half of the year, I’d like to stay well and enjoy myself, stress less.

Goodness, this sounds like a New Year’s resolution, doesn’t it?

Remember the challenge I set myself earlier in the year, to read the books everyone else as read? Haven’t read a single one as yet! But I have read some great books – 42 in total. I set myself a target of 70 books this year, hoping to pass it, and I think I will.

Stand out books for me in the first half of 2012 were:

  1. Gillespie and I by Jane Harris
  2. Rules of Civility by Amor Towles
  3. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson
  4. The Group by Mary McCarthy
  5. The Restaurant of Love Regained by Ito Ogawa

In the second half of the year, I want to decrease my TBR pile, which continues to grow despite my efforts to reduce it! (I listed 29 books on my wishlist in June alone!) I’d also like to reduce my work related ‘guilt pile’ – i.e. all those journals/articles/reviews that look interesting to read another day.

There are some giveaways coming up in the second half of the year; Leeswammes will be hosting another Literary Giveaway Blog Hop in October, of which I’ll join in again. There is also the inaugural Historical Fiction giveaway at Bippity Boppity Book to look forward to from 24-30th August. I’m think about which book I should giveaway…

What are your reading plans for the second half of 2012?

 


 

4 thoughts on “Countdown to Christmas: Reading Reflections on the First Half of 2012

Add yours

  1. Samstillreading I have quite a small readings aim for the rest of the year. I simply want to read more books. There are not enough hours in the day.
    I do hope your health is better for the remainder of the year.

  2. Hope things follow a more healthy path in the 2nd part of this year, I will probably read the Ogawa book at some point as I’ve seen several good posts on it. As to your TBR problem, I solved mine by changing It’s title to my library to be read at some point when the fancy takes, or library for short, now no more pressure etc, just books.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

