Six Books Six Months

Dolce Bellezza has put out the challenge – can you categorise your books from the first six months of the year into just six categories? The Book Jotter started the trend with the following categories:

1. Six new authors to me;

2. Six authors I have read before;

3. Six authors I am looking forward to reading more of;

4. Six books I have enjoyed the most;

5. Six books I was disappointed with;

6. Six series of books read or started. (i.e. series)

Here’s my list, tweaked a little to suit my tastes:

Six new authors to me

  1. Karl Pilkington
  2. George Eliot
  3. Elliot Perlman
  4. Caroline Overington
  5. Paul Theroux
  6. Jeffrey Archer

Six new authors I am looking forward to reading more of:

  1. Mary McCarthy
  2. Winifred Watson
  3. Jane Harris
  4. Ito Ogawa
  5. Madeleine St John
  6. Amor Towles

Six authors I have read before (and that I love):

  1. Camilla Lackberg
  2. Sophie Hannah
  3. Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
  4. Tilly Bagshawe
  5. Richard Yates
  6. Max Pemberton

Six books I have enjoyed the most (not in order):

  1. Gillespie and I – Jane Harris
  2. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day – Winifred Watson
  3. Rules of Civility – Amor Towles
  4. The Women in Black – Madeleine St John
  5. The Restaurant of Love Regained – Ito Ogawa
  6. The Group – Mary McCarthy

Six books I was disappointed with (meaning that they didn’t live up to my probably unreasonably high expectations):

  1. The Freudian Slip – Marion Von Adlerstein
  2. The Marriage Plot – Jeffrey Eugenides
  3. The Street Sweeper – Elliot Perlman
  4. The Debutante – Kathleen Tessaro
  5. Burley Cross Postbox Theft – Nicola Barker
  6. The Great Railway Baazar – Paul Theroux

Six series of books read or started:

  1. The Morland Dynasty – Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
  2. Brock/Kolla mysteries – Barry Maitland
  3. Babylon series – Imogen Edwards-Jones
  4. Spilling Detectives – Sophie Hannah
  5. Erica/Patrik mysteries – Camilla Lackberg
  6. Clifton Chronicles – Jeffrey Archer

     

Can you fit your reading into six categories?


3 thoughts on “Six Books Six Months

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

