Mailbox Monday: Bloomsbury and a Blog Hop

My mailbox had a very busy week. I received several packages (not just books) and all were a surprise, which was lovely! I was super excited to find a BIG brown postbag from the lovely people at Bloomsbury containing their August fiction highlights. Honestly, they must have psychic powers (or know my browsing history!) because these three books are ones I have been very, very excited about. Thank you!

The Scent of Lemon Leaves by Clara Sanchez This looks really good –Sandra decides to take stock of her life and live in a village on the Costa Brava, where she meets new people. Not all of them are as honest as they seem…

The Harbour by Francesca Brill I have been eyeing this off for ages, not just for its beautiful cover. This is set in Hong Kong in 1940 and features Stevie, a young American journalist. However, you and I both know that this road is going to be rocky as WWII and the Japanese approach the island.

A Lady Cyclist’s Guide to Kashgar by Suzanne Joinson I’ve read some good reviews of this one, and I was even more pleased to read that it entwines two stories (past and present) and is not all about cycling. It’s been likened to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, which I adored.

If you’re in Australia, these books will be released on Wednesday August 1st.

I only have one problem, which one to read first?

My second book parcel came from heavenali, as I was a winner in her Literary Blog Hop. The parcel was definitely the best wrapped I’ve ever seen! I’ve always wanted to read an Elizabeth Taylor book (and no it’s not Elizabeth Taylor of acting fame) so this was a very good prize! This book is about a lost love affair between Harriet and Vesey – falling in love when young, then being separated and meeting again when Harriet is married. I think I shall enjoy this one.

I worked all weekend, so I don’t anticipate anything in the mail this week – no time to peruse my favourite stores/sites/bloggers!

What did you receive in your mailbox over the last week?

Please check out Mrs Q: Book Addict, who is our host for July and find some lovely titles to lust for!

9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday: Bloomsbury and a Blog Hop

Add yours

  1. I saw The Harbour at another MM and loved the cover. It sounds wonderful too. Have a great week and enjoy your new books!

  2. It’s always a treat to find a package in the mailbox filled with goodies that you weren’t expecting. These are all new to me. The Harbour sounds great and I agree about the lovely cover.

  3. There must be a writing renaissance! So many good-looking books! I’ve only heard of a couple of these. I hope you enjoy each one. 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

