Mailbox Monday 6/8/12

Another week, another mailbox! Our host for the month of August is 5 Minutes for Books (what a great name for a book blog), so please check out the site to increase your book wants!

I had a first last week that I’m perversely proud of. The parcel post man had to make TWO trips from his van to the door for my parcels! (Thanks Mum for taking delivery). I must admit that not all of them were books or all for me and that I’m not expecting parcels this week (or the next), but it’s an achievement!

The first book I received was from Harlequin Australia, a copy of A Deeper Darkness by J.T. Ellison. This looks like a gritty crime thriller – by the time you read this, I should have started it. It’s also out now if you’re interested.

Later in the week, I also received two more books from Harlequin Australia – The Unfinished Garden by Barbara Claypole White, which looks like it will be a sweet relationship book (and hopefully give me some tips on gardening too!) and Goodbye Lullaby by Jan Murray, an Australian book set in the 1970s, dealing with National Service and pregnancy. I’m really looking forward to this one, as my father was a ‘Nasho’.

Finally, I received a nice set of books to review for the great Australian website with an excellent name, Sassi Sam. You can find the book reviews here. The problem is, which book do I read first? There’s a great range here: Broken Harbour by Tana French, After the Darkness by Honey Brown, The Chalk Girl by Carol O’Connell
(all mystery and crime – nice for these wintery days), Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple (I really want to find out where she ended up) and An Absolute Deception by Lesley Lokko, who I’ve heard about, but not read yet.

What did I buy? Well, just the one ebook – Overseas by Beatriz Williams which is going a little bit outside of my normal genres, but that’s what reading is about!

How was your book week? What did you welcome into your home?

8 responses to “Mailbox Monday 6/8/12

  1. I just did my mm post! :) You got so many great books last week. I’ve been wanting to try Tana French, any recs on where to start?

  2. I have a friend who’s absolutely crazy about Tana French, and he just bought her newest book in hardcover. As for me, I was so disappointed at the lack of resolution in the first one I haven’t picked up another. Aren’t I a baby? :)

  3. You have a nice pile of books there! I’m still waiting for my copy of Where’d You Go, Bernadette. It sounds like my type of quirky book.

    I was disappointed in Overseas. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t what I was expecting. Too much romance and not enough plot for me.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

