Mailbox Monday 3/9/12

Wow, spring has sprung here. The flowers are blooming and it’s no longer freezing cold. BookNAround is our host for September, so please do visit if you want to start a bookish Christmas wish list!

Most of my purchases were made in store this week (more in a moment), but I did receive this lovely book from the kind people at Random House:

I’m ashamed to say that this will be my first Debbie Macomber book – I didn’t realise that she was such a prolific writer! The Inn at Rose Harbor looks lovely and cosy. I’m planning on starting it this week.

These three books I purchased during the week:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky is always being brought up at my book club as a potential read. We don’t have a date for it yet, so I decided to buy it (especially as the movie is being released soon). I’ve read about 20 pages so far and can see why it would be a good book to discuss – there’s a lot to debate already!

I tried to win Kristy Chambers’ Get Well Soon! My (Un)Brilliant Career as a Nurse but wasn’t successful. I saw it in the ABC Shop, read a couple of pages and was laughing hysterically. I’m reading this now and it’s very funny and very sad in equal measures.

H.C. Carlton’s Labels was added to my wish list just before I left Singapore (lack of luggage space and Singapore dollars left it on the shelf then). It sounds fun and light, which is sometimes just what you need!

Did you have the postie running ragged over the last week? What goodies did you receive in your letterbox?

18 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 3/9/12

Add yours

  1. I received Perks of Being a Wallflower this week too. My daughter snatched it up though so I have to wait to read it. I bet it will make for a lively book club discussion! Labels looks cute too. Happy reading.

  2. You’re getting in on the start of a new Debbie Macomber series so you’ll get a good idea of her books. Hope you enjoy it – her books are ‘comfort reads’ for me 🙂

  3. ENJOY all your books. I have never read a Debbie Macomber book.

    I have already read the book I received last week and have an author giveaway for it. LOL!! 🙂

    Have a good week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews

  4. I haven’t read any Debbie Macomber books either, so you’ve got some company. Her books have lovely covers though, and since I’m attracted to a nice cover, some day I’ll probably pick one up!

  5. It took me a few seconds before I realised in which hemisphere you were 🙂 I’m really looking forward to autumn, the summer has been full of rain and crazy heat and some mellow, predictable weather with prettily coloured trees and flowers would be just perfect right now.

    Did you know there’s a Perks of Being a Wallflower reading event going on at the moment? It’s hosted by Laura of Owl tell you about it. I’m liking the cover of H.C. Carlton’s Labels a lot!

    As for Debbie Macomber, I don’t know this author :s I’m curious what you think of her, before I check out one of her many books at the library!

    1. I’ve never seen a proper autumn, our trees here (if they lose their leaves) usually go straight from green to brown to on the ground.

      I’ll have to check out The Perks of Being a Wallflower event – I’m not really liking it (this shocked my local bookstore manager!)but I think that relates to just how awkward it is to grow up!

      I’m about to start the Debbie Macomber. I hope I enjoy it!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

