Mailbox Monday 24/9/12

I think I’ve said it many times before, but how this year has flown! We should be into spring in Australia now, but after a trial run of warm days, it’s cold, windy and rainy again. Oh well.

Luckily someone was home all week to pick up my parcels, otherwise my books could have been a little wet!

This month, BookNAround is our host for Mailbox Monday, so if you need to add to your wish list, look at all the great mailboxes on the linky list!

Monday brought my first book from Allen and Unwin, who kindly sent me Michelle de Kretser’s Questions of Travel after I rather cheekily asked if I could have a review copy! Thank you, I promise not to bother you now J This book is centred around two characters – Laura, post a trip around the world, works for a travel guide publisher (oh what a job!) and Ravi, who dreams to be a tourist but is forced to leave his homeland. You can read more about this book here. It will be available in October.

I also won a competition from Good Reading magazine, a copy of Hannah and Emil by Belinda Castles. (Coincidentally, the publisher is also Allen and Unwin!) The book is about Hannah, a Jewish girl from London and Emil, a German soldier from the Great War. They meet in Europe just as Nazi Germany is beginning to strengthen and Emil is eventually interned as an alien in London during World War II. I’m looking forward to this!

My last (huge) parcel came from Bloomsbury – thank you! Wilderness by Lance Weller involves an American Civil War veteran, a slave, a Chinese girl and a woman married to an African American man and the battles they face. I think this will be really emotive, but rewarding. It’s released 1st October – you can read more here.

Elza’s Kitchen by Marc Fitten sounds heart warming – Elza has a restaurant in Hungary, which is fraught with problems. She decides that it’s time to get a top-notch review from The Critic, but things turn to disaster… This sounds lovely and funny!

Finally, Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford is the first in a new thriller series set in Gibraltar, starring Spike Sanguinetti. He’s a lawyer who arrives home one day to find an old friend there – who’s on the run after being accused of murder.

I also bought a few Stella Rimington books, after I really enjoyed reading The Geneva Trap. I ended up with At Risk, Present Danger and Rip Tide.


Have any books come into your home in the last week? Do share!

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 24/9/12

Add yours

  1. Do you mean that, if nobody were at home to open the door for the postman, he’d have left them on your doorstep? The horror o___o You’ve got yourself quite a haul! And a very diverse bunch of books too. I think Elza’s Kitchen would appeal to me most. And the Stella Rimington books too of course! Happy reading, Sam 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

