Mailbox Monday 1/10/12

I think spring (and possibly summer) has arrived here today! Warm weather makes it a lovely lazy time for reading – if you have the time! By the time you read this, I’ll have my head buried in textbooks (oh, and The Casual Vacancy). Being snowed under doesn’t stop me buying books though! Here’s what followed me home this week:

That book that everyone’s reading. I’ve found The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling a little slow to start, but I think that’s because there’s so many characters to set up and establish relationships with. And yes, I did buy it on day of release!

I’m still on a Stella Rimington
kick – Present Danger and Illegal Action are two of the three I’ve been able to find so far. I don’t think I’ll bother to fill in the missing numbers, I’ll just read sequentially with what I have – #1 (At Risk, currently in transit), #3 (Illegal Action), #5 (Present Danger), #6 (Rip Tide) and #7 (The Geneva Trap).

After a lot of discussion, The Dinner
by Herman Koch was picked as my book club’s read for October. I think it sounds good, but other members who have read it weren’t very keen. Have you read this?

Please do check out our host for October, Parchment Girl, where you will find a list of the blogs participating this week.

Happy reading!

6 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 1/10/12

Add yours

  1. Have fun with The Casual Vacancy. I was never a big Potter fan so Rowling isn’t that special to me. I may read it when I see positive reviews on it, but I’m not sure yet. Hope you’ll enjoy it! Fun that you got it on the day of release, you must be a real fan!

    I enjoyed The Dinner. I read it a few years back (he’s a Dutch writer so I read the original). What a pity some of the other members of your book club didn’t like it so much. I hope you do! At least it’s fun to see that the book gets some attention in other countries.

  2. I expect to see The Casual Vacancy in a lot of MM posts today. Hope you end up enjoying it. I haven’t heard too much about The Dinner but it sounds like a good book club choice to me. Happy reading!

  3. Looking forward to hearing more about The Casual Vacancy. I ALMOST bought a copy at the Baltimore Book Festival this weekend but decided to hold off until I hear more about it. I still have not read any of the Harry Potter books. Maybe I will start there!

  4. I’m probably one of the few people on the planet that hasn’t read Harry Potter so I’ll be waiting to see how people like The Casual Vacancy before I give it a try. I’ve never heard of The Dinner, but that cover would make me pick it up and find out what it was about.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

