Mailbox Monday 3/12/12

Those Mondays do roll by very quickly at this time of year! I was worried that I wouldn’t have anything to show for my mailbox this week, but a lack of sleep and a sale got to me. I fought the Christmas crowds and the severe lack of check out to buy these goodies:

I have heard so much about Stephen King’s 11.22.63 (especially from Care, who gave it a whopping five slices of pie). I’ve picked it up so many times; I thought I should just bring it home with me.

Secrets of the Tides by Hannah Richell was released earlier this year in the ‘bigger’ sized book format, but has been released in a smaller size for Christmas. (Does anyone else notice that the ‘small’ size books are almost gone these days? I like them because I can hide fit more on my shelves). This book’s blurb reminded me a little of Kate Morton – family and a dark secret.

I think I am the only person who hasn’t read Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl yet. It’s been a difficult one to track down. I don’t understand the white lines on the cover – will they make sense after I’ve read the book?

Finally, I bought the new John Grisham, The Racketeer, to share with the family and read over summer.

If you’re looking for more impressive mailboxes, do head over to Suko’s Notebook, who is hosting Mailbox Monday for December.

21 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 3/12/12

Add yours

  1. You’re not the only one that hasn’t read Gone Girl. Despite it’s inclusion in all the ‘best of’ lists I’m not sure it is for me. I do want to read 11.22.63 though – it has been far too long since I read some Stephen King – enjoy!

  2. I just finished 11/22/63. It was good, but not great, for me. The think I liked best was the trip down memory lane, to the 60s which I remember with great joy as I was a child then. I have a soft spot for Grisham’s novels; looking forward to what you think of Racketeer.

  3. I haven’t read Gone Girl either. I will eventually, probably in audio since I have a backlog of print books waiting for me. I loved 11/22/63, it was one of my 5 star books last year.

  4. TBG and I are on the list at the library for the Racketeer. We’re # 138 I hope we get to read it before 2014! 🙂 Enjoy!!

  5. I have also heard a lot about the Stephen King but stopped reading him years ago. Not sure I want to start again. I have one of his son’s book in my pile, though.

  6. What a great mailbox. I see 11.22.63 in there, King is a favorite and I have that one on Mt.TBR. I haven’t read Gone Girl either, I thought those strings on the cover were hair. Happy reading 🙂

  7. About S. King’s 11.22.63 I’ve read a review by a King’s fan that said it was not like other of his novels; she did’n like it actually (and she is a great fan: she has read everything by King). So…. good luck!
    And I like very much J. Grisham, it’s just entertaining, and it’s perfect for summerdays!!
    Hope you enjoy your reads.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

