Mailbox Monday 31/12/12 or What I Got for Christmas (and Christmas Eve)

As you read this, I’ll actually be celebrating my birthday (and hopefully some books as gifts if I’m lucky) but I thought I should devote some space to my Christmas presents. Things were pretty generous on the new release front as you can see:


Four 2012 new releases from Paullina Simons, Monica McInerney, Maeve Binchy and Maggie Alderson.


A Douglas Kennedy book pack. I haven’t read any of his books yet, but they sound interesting.


Three lovely hardcovers – the second in the Century trilogy by Ken Follett, Bryce Courtenay’s final book and Dr Karl’s science take on 50 Shades.


The book to accompany Call the Midwife (even though I haven’t seen series two yet) and Jamie Oliver’s even faster meals!

On Christmas Eve, the rest of my Library Thing Santa Thing (Secret Santa) arrived. Thank you!


Louise Penny and Sandra Gulland are new authors to me.

I also received from Text Publishing my prize from a Twitter competition (yes, the Parcel Post man had to do two trips that day – and possibly had to go on holiday straight after delivering these!)


Really looking forward to reading this lovely hardcover edition from Barack Obama.

Finally, the lovely people at The Reading Room sent me a parcel – thank you!


The new Tracy Chevalier, Rachael Treasure and a book from my wishlist – Tigers in Red Weather by Lisa Klaussmann.

Wow! That’s it for now – but stay tuned for next week’s birthday edition! Please do visit Suko’s Notebook for more Mailbox Monday fun – I’m sure this week will be a bumper edition!

 

Happy 2013 🙂


22 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 31/12/12 or What I Got for Christmas (and Christmas Eve)

Add yours

  1. Hi Sam,

    Happy Birthday and Happy New Year!

    How can a girl choose from so many fantastic books?

    I have such a long reading list that I have to make just a single selection to add … So I guess it will have to be the Douglas Kennedy collection (well a collection can be classed as just one choice … can’t it?).

    I have read one of his books and thoroughly enjoyed it, so these three will be a great addition to my collection.

    I hope that you enjoy all your great finds and have a lovely day!

    Yvonne

  2. You are going to be busy! I adored Mr. Pip – one of those books that you think about long after reading it, I think. Of course, I ‘ve been on a tiny Dickens kick with Bleak House.

  3. Wonderful mailbox. Can’t wait to read Children of Liberty and The Last Runaway. I haven’t read anything by Douglas Kennedy either but I love those covers. Hope you enjoy all your new books!

  4. Happy birthday and happy new year! You have some amazing reading coming your way!

    I really like the Sandra Gulland. Books written in the diary format don’t always work for me but that one did!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

