Mailbox Monday 4/2/13

Second month of the year already! Nothing much has changed, still reading and still buying books! I thought this would be an empty mailbox week until 9pm Friday when a slim parcel was found on the doorstep (despite there being nothing there at 6pm!).

I opened it and yay! Yoko Ogawa’s Revenge! (Thank you Random House!) This book contains 11 twisted tales with common motifs (such as strawberries and kiwi fruit…yum). I look forward to Ogawa’s sparse prose and slightly disturbing stories.


Unfortunately, the bookshop I went to Saturday didn’t have any of those books I was planning to buy with my Christmas/birthday vouchers! I did spot Amber Road by Boyd Anderson, which piqued my interest. It’s a fiction book about Singapore in World War II. How could I resist?

I’ve been reading a lot of eBooks lately and added to my digital pile two new titles.

The first is Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life, which looks really interesting. (Actually it is, I started it last night). It looks at having multiple chances to live your life until you get it right. It’s released in Australia (and I believe the UK) in March.

The second eBook is a memoir, The Gunners of Shenyang by Yu Jihui, to be released in May this year. It’s about the author’s university days and daring to be different during Mao’s Great Leap Forward.

Please do visit our host for February, Unabridged Chick, to explore lots of exciting mailboxes!

20 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 4/2/13

Add yours

  1. Gorgeous cover on revenge. Enjoy all your books.

    Giveaway going on at my blog for THE CONFESSION by Charles Todd. It is in the post right below Mailbox Monday.

    My Mailbox Monday link is below.

    Happy Monday!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  2. Revenge sounds fascinating. I hope you enjoy it and I look forward to your review. It’s also pretty interetsting that it showed uplate at night on a Friday…ah, the life of books!
    The cover of Amber Road is beautiful. And Kate Atkinson is one of the authors I have yet to read but want to. I hope you enjoy this book!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

