Mailbox Monday 18/2/13

Wow, last week was such a busy week that it just flew by! I did have some fun though and met the author Rachael Johns at a library event. It was incredibly interesting! I also ate a lot of good food and then did some overtime to pay for the good food…and good books!

I strongly suspect that my parcel post man may have been on holiday (I can’t contemplate that I just simply had no mail) because everything in my mailbox came at the end of the week!

Firstly, Random House sent me a book journal because I’m one of their favourite Tweeters. Aww, thanks guys!


You can also get these at Dymocks when you purchase two Vintage Classics this month – not difficult, especially as all of Ian Fleming’s James Bond novels are now published in Vintage Classics! There’s five sections: books I have read, books I want to read, books I have borrowed, books I have lent and book quotes to remember.

The kind folk at Bloomsbury sent me the very cool cover-ed book Little Known Facts by Christine Sneed. This book combines Hollywood with family secrets. This sounds right up my alley – I love hidden secrets combined with wealthy families.


I’ve also organised to be part of a tour for Margareta Osborn’s new book, Hope’s Road (my copy comes from Random House – thank you again!). It’s a rural Australian romance, covering several generations. The tour is a tag a along idea, with one review each day. You’ll see my review here mid-March.


Finally, I received my order from Readings, a Melbourne based chain of bookstores (the Carlton store is a booklover’s dream). They were offering Haruki Murakami’s books at $9.95, so I topped up my collection. I love Murakami’s books, even though I don’t claim to understand everything that happens. I bought Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman; Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World; Underground; South of the Border, West of the Sun and Dance Dance Dance.


Well, it looks like I’ll be busy this week too! What did you receive in your mailbox? Do visit the lovely Unabridged Chick, our host for Mailbox Monday for February to see a load of fantastic books received.

17 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 18/2/13

Add yours

  1. Murakami! I love the guy 🙂 Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman is one of my favourites. Hard-boiled Wonderland… not so much. It’s a bit too far out there for me. Have you read these already or are these on your to-read list?
    That book journal is just lovely. So kind of Random House to send you a gift 🙂

  2. Ohhh so jealous of the Murakami haul! I adore his writing but am quite happy to admit that, like you, I don’t always follow everything that’s going on – but I don’t think it matters!

  3. Your week sounds as though it has been quite successful book wise. There is nothing better than receiving new books, you just have to find the time to read them!

  4. I am always stunned when there is NOTHING in the mailbox, too; yet what a nice bonanza you got at the end of the week. I like the look of Little Known Facts…and the journals are lovely!

    Enjoy…and thanks for visiting my blog.

  5. Lusting after your editions of Murakami…mine are all assorted raggle taggle covers which don’t ‘match’. Not, I suppose, that it matters.

    Did you hear that Murakami has a new book to be released in April? Of course, no one has said what the title is yet, and worse, we won’t have it in English til probably four thousand years from now. Still, it’s on the horizon. Somewhere. 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

