Mailbox Monday 25/3/13 – the double edition

Back again for another Mailbox Monday – a double edition, because I didn’t post last week due to other commitments. Just a word of warning first though – I’ve had a bumper buying week, so this post looks a little greedy! I love visiting bookshops when I have the time, and have been to quite a few recently!

But let’s start from the beginning. Bloomsbury Sydney sent me a lovely parcel of books for review, thank you! We have The Girl Below by Bianca Zander (fiction with a hint of eerie creepiness, out April/May in Australia), The World Was All Before Them by Matthew Reynolds (fiction about just two of the people on this planet, out now) and The Love-charm of Bombs by Lara Feigel (nonfiction about five writers in London during World War II, out now).

The second parcel was from Allen and Unwin and The Reading Room. It contained a copy of The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay (fiction post WWII in a small town, out April). Thank you, I love the cover of this!

Now my uninhibited book buying starts – you have been warned! I saw this set of Anne Tyler books in a bookstore. I love a set of books, and I love them even more when they’re on sale! Reading Matters enjoys Anne Tyler, so I know that these books will be good.

Then there was a book sale at Big W. My local hadn’t unpacked the books I wanted, so I made the journey to a book-loving Big W (that also has self-checkouts, good because there are always queues!). I know that authors don’t get as good a return when I buy from there, but sometimes you gotta read and eat. My purchases were three new releases: Black Roses by Jane Thynne (about Nazi Germany, fiction with a gorgeous cover), Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler (self-explanatory, read an interview with the author and was interested) and The Twins by Saskia Sarginson (about twins who grow up very differently).

As I mentioned last week, a series of pink Popular Penguins were released in support of the McGrath Foundation. I bought Anais Nin’s A Spy in the House of Love. Isn’t the cover gorgeous?

Kate Forsyth is touring at the moment for her new novel The Wild Girl about the Brothers Grimm. I’ll be seeing her this week but couldn’t hold off waiting to buy her book!

Finally, I had a win from Bookworld on Twitter – a signed copy of Jared Diamond’s new book, The World Until Yesterday, about traditional societies.

Phew! It’s almost lucky that I have a cold, so I can legitimately sit and red! If you want more, please do visit our host for March, Caitlin at Chaotic Compendiums. Do stop by and check out the latest mailboxes.

9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 25/3/13 – the double edition

Add yours

  1. Oh, where to start, such a nice assortment. Can’t go wrong with Anne Tyler’s books. I love seeing your covers, always so different from what we get in the US. I would pick up The Railwayman’s Wife for the cover alone!

  2. What a great stash! I totally understand the book-buying thing. I can’t resist book sales either. You’ve got some great reading ahead. I’ve seen Z on many blogs. Will have to see if my library has it.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

