Gratuitous Self Promotion: Best Australian Blogs 2013

You may have noticed a big blue button appear on my website – yes, I have entered a blog competition, the Best Australian Blogs of 2013. While I don’t think I can win (I can’t compete with those who blog full time), I’m going to try my best! The prizes involve courses at the Australian Writers’ Centre, which I’d love to try to improve my writing.

So, if you’re interested, you can vote for me (you don’t need to be Australian) – and other Aussie blogs. You don’t need to pick! Being an ‘S’ blog, Sam Still Reading can be found on page 4. Just click on the button above or to your left or click on this link.

I’ve put together a few thoughts about why I started this blog and what it means to me. Please read on if you’re interested, otherwise I promise that Sam Still Reading will return to bookish thoughts tomorrow!

Why did you start this blog?

I had been writing my thoughts on books that I’d read since early 2007 on a book reviewing/sharing website. Over time, these reviews grew from very brief – “Really enjoyed this. Would like to read another of this author’s books” to much more detailed reviews of characters, plot, language and how the book made me feel.

I was pondering in 2010 to do further study and had read somewhere that regular writing was a good way to ‘get in shape’ for any sort of long work. I had the idea to combine my reviews all in one place and the blog was born. I ended up undertaking a different line of study to what I had originally intended but I was hooked. I loved being able to write my thoughts on books I had read and eventually incorporated books I wanted to read, book series, giveaways and my thoughts on books. The blog also acts as something different away from my job (which can be rather all-consuming at times) and gives me something positive to focus on.

Why the name ‘Sam Still Reading’?

It took me ages to think of a name! Contrary to what you might think, Sam is not my real name but one that I’ve used for years and years online and even my parents call me Sam sometimes! I liked how if you say the title over and over, it sounds like ‘standstill reading’ which is what happens to time when I read. It’s my escape from the world.

What are your plans for the future of Sam Still Reading?

Keep reading and writing! I’ve gotten to the point now where I carry my eReader around so I can read if there’s an unexpected delay. I also want to practise writing more and have gotten some great tips from published authors I’ve heard speak. I’ve gotten into a good schedule for posting and I’d like to stick with that. In addition to reviews, I want to write some more about thoughts related to the book world. Most of my ideas come late at night and I need to start writing them down!

I also want to continue to read and review a significant proportion of my own books. If you’re an author/publisher I’ve had to turn down, I apologise. I get quite a few more requests nowadays and don’t have time to read them all, as much as I’d like to!

I’ll keep doing this as long as I derive pleasure from it. I don’t think I’ll stop anytime soon as I really enjoy having a creative outlet.

4 thoughts on “Gratuitous Self Promotion: Best Australian Blogs 2013

Add yours

  1. No shame in nominating yourself and sharing your passion for reading Sam – I did too for the first time this year! After so many comments where I’ve referred to you as Sam directly it is interesting to learn that’s just an online persona, and love your logic behind your blog name. Best wishes in the comp!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

