Mailbox Monday 6/5/13

A new month means a new host for Mailbox Monday! Abi at 4 the Love of Books is our host for May – thanks Abi! Mailbox Monday is a meme by Marcia to share your recent bookish acquisitions.

I ended up buying clothes and cosmetics rather than books this week, but I did get some lovely things in the mail, as well as winning not one, but TWO prizes!

The first prize was from a Twitter competition run by Readings bookstores (one of the places I can be found in when I’m in Melbourne). It was a signed proof copy of Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. This is a real buzz book at the moment in Australia about a woman sentenced to death in Iceland in the 19th century.

I also received a copy of The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon from Bloomsbury Australia. At first I wasn’t sure if this book was for me, being futuristic with a sci-fi element but the accompanying letter mentioned London and fashion which is definitely me!

My second prize was from the lovely folk at Dymocks Hay St Mall (in Perth). I won their Twitter/Facebook Win-a-book Wednesday, which was a copy of The Seamstress by Maria Duenas. All I had to do was admit I can’t sew! The book is about Spain’s Civil War, World War II and a young seamstress. I had a lovely time chatting about books with the staff and got some great recommendations. I plan to make some of those turn into purchases very shortly!

Have you had any exciting new books enter your home recently?

11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 6/5/13

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

