Mailbox Monday 10/6/13

I am pleased to say that my parcel drought came to an end this week (plus, it was dry so nothing got wet!) I was also lucky and won a couple of competitions. It’s the perfect weather to sit under and blanket and read, read, read!

Dolce Bellezza is our Mailbox Monday host for June. Mailbox Monday, started by Marcia, is the place to come and share your recent book acquisitions and walk away with a huge wish list!

Not a book, but related: I won tickets to see The Great Gatsby. A friend and I are planning to make a night of it – dinner and Leo in 3D! Thanks Bookworld!

I got a surprise on Thursday to find The Shadow Year by Hannah Richell
in my letterbox – it was a prize from The Hoopla. Thank you! Hannah’s second book is set in England, about five friends who escape to an abandoned cottege. Thirty years later, one of them returns to renovate the house but is shaken by a feeling that someone is watching her… Don’t you think the cover is gorgeous?

The lovely folk at Bloomsbury Sydney also sent me a copy of Khaled Hosseini’s new book, And the Mountains Echoed – thank you! The book is racing up the bestseller charts here, so I’m looking forward to joining in.

Finally, I did a raid on the Book Depository’s bargain bin and got some new authors to try – The Fountain Overflows by Rebecca West, Barbara Pym’s Excellent Women, The House I Loved by Tatiana De Rosnay and Some Girls, Some Hats and Hitler by Trudi Kanter. Yes, it was a run on Virago Modern Classics!

I’m planning to do a lot of reading this week – not to mention some movie watching! Do you have special plans for this week and are they linked to your mailbox?

Have a great week!

9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 10/6/13

Add yours

  1. How fun- I loved Great Gatsby in 3D! Can’t wait to hear what you think of it. And The Shadow Year does look lovely. Congrats on your win and scoring those book bargains 🙂

  2. The Gatsby movie sounds like fun. I’ll probably rent it when it comes out in DVD but winning tickets would be nicer! I have And the Mountains Echoed in audio… it’s making its way to the top of the pile.

  3. The Shadow Year sounds great! I’m going to look for that. I listened to Gatsby last week (Jake Gyllenhaal narrated). It’s really good. I’ve read the book several times but I loved listening. Have a good week!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

