Mailbox Monday 1/7/13

Happy second half of the year! Some of you are in the middle of summer, others are in the middle of winter. Here, it’s a bit confusing – it’s cold, but beautiful and sunny. Some of the wildflowers have even begun to bloom! Sadly not my roses though – they know it’s winter and have become bare sticks.

I had a pretty lucky week last week – I won a prize from a publisher and two prizes from the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop! I won a copy of Heat Lightning from Alex in Leeds and an Amazon gift voucher from The Misfortune of Knowing. Thank you so much!

I decided to take winning an Amazon voucher as a sign and splurged on a Kindle Paperwhite. While I still haven’t got the hang of buying books (exchange rates, geographical restrictions, and conflicting prices are confusing me!) compared to the Sony (epub), it is absolutely awesome in relation to eGalleys! I’m carefully working out which books to buy with my voucher. Watch this space.


I also received two books from the lovely people at Harlequin Books Australia – thank you! The Returned by Jason Mott looks like it’s going to be very popular, due to its unique premise. Dead people start returning to life, exactly as they were at point of death. I believe this is also going to be made into a TV series. The Inevitability of Stars by Kathryn R. Lister looks like a beautiful love story set in Australia that unravels spectacularly. These books will be released in September and August respectively (Australia).


The end of June is the end of the financial year in Australia, so there are often big stocktake sales at the shops. I finally get lucky this sale season and bought these books at $10 each (saving $100 off RRP)! Salmon Fishing in the Yemen by Paul Torday is about trying to build a river for salmon fishing in the desert (you can tell I haven’t seen the movie!) and Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo is non-fiction, about life in the Mumbai slums. Mateship With Birds by Carrie Tiffany has been a prize winner and on many prize lists (plus how can I resist a book with a bird on the cover?). The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale looks at a real life historical murder, while Charley Boorman’s Extreme Frontiers: Racing Across Canada is the book of the TV series. Finally, Mary Bennet by Jennifer Paynter imagines Pride and Prejudice through Mary’s eyes.


Phew! That was a great week. Hopefully if I’m approved for some of the galleys I requested I’ll have more to share next week- you have been warned LOL!

Please do visit Tasha at Book Obsessed, our host for July. Mailbox Monday, started by Marcia, is the place to come and share your recent book acquisitions and walk away with a huge wish list!


12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 1/7/13

Add yours

  1. The Inevitability of Stars does look like it’ll be really interesting. I haven’t read a lot of Australia set books, but would definitely love too. And think it just has such a pretty cover.

  2. You have had an exciting week. I have often wondered about the Kindle. Many of my friends have them and love them. I will follow your Kindle adventures with interest.

  3. Congrats on your new kindle paperwhite! I love mine but I’m still figuring out how to organize my books. And yes, the kindle is the way to go for Egalleys 🙂 The Inevitability of Stars looks so good. Can’t wait to hear more about it. Have a good week!

  4. Nice haul last week. The Returned does sound good, it’s on my list. I requested a copy of that and it arrived yesterday. I’m trying to read eGalleys on my Android tablet and it’s ok but a little tiring on the eyes. The Kindle is very tempting!

  5. Beware of the kindle daily deals, they seem awesome, until you realise how many of them have made you buy books you wouldn’t have otherwise. I’ve banned myself from looking at them now because I’m trying to cut down on my book buying.

    I had lots of luck with winning this last week too. I won one of the Literary Blog Hop giveaways and a blog tour giveaway.

    I’ll look forward to your thoughts on Mary Bennett, it’s one of those books which sounds like a really good idea but probably difficult to execute

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

