Anybody But Him by Claire Baxter

A quick rundown… Nicola Hayes returns to her hometown only to find she’s living near her high school enemy. Have things changed or is Blair still out to humiliate her?

Strengths: Fun and an easy read – more than just romance.

Weaknesses: Too short!

Why I read it: Enjoy the Random Romance series and received an eGalley from Random House Australia – thank you!

Pages: 150

Published: 2013

Publisher: Random House

Setting: Australia

Rating: 8.5 out of 10

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again – I really enjoy the Random Romance series. I know that I’ll get a fun story that’s well written and will make me smile. I’m particularly a fan of the ‘pink ones’ – described as a romantic comedy. Anybody But Him fits beautifully into that description and would in my opinion, make a great movie. It has all the elements of a good rom-com – misunderstandings, quirky characters and a gorgeous love interest. There’s also a dash of crime and match making added for extra interest.

Nicola Doyle is forced to return to the country town where she was a teenage laughing stock at the hands of Blair Morrissey. Now a star on the city’s financial scene, Nicola finds returning home to look after her eccentric parents a chore. Fortunately, she has her best friend Lainey to support her – but nobody told her Blair was still in town! Blair seems oblivious to his past wrongs, but Nicola won’t let things go – not even when they are in frequent contact!

I loved the crazy situations that Nicola regularly found herself in that required Blair’s help – they made me laugh, especially the bathroom scene. I also liked the mystery that was happening in the workplace, but I thought it was done and dusted rather quickly (however, this is a novella so maybe I’m in the minority). Nicola’s parents were also a nice light touch – both were infuriatingly funny. Blair also forces Nicola to keep things light – she has a tendency to ruminate over things – and wins the prize for fantastic (but not politically correct) dog name.

Baxter also gets the setting of the country town just right – from the fishing by the river to always running into someone you know.

A sweet romance that has plenty of subplots to keep you entertained. Definitely reading more by Claire Baxter.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

