Mailbox Monday 15/7/13

The first week of my break meant I read a little bit (but not as much as I’d expected, sadly). I also shopped, baked and ate a bit in between deciding to reconfigure my home network. I’m still tangled up! I did receive a few parcels over the last week as well as buying some new books!

The lovely folk at The Reading Room sent me a copy of Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple. This book has appeared on many shortlists and seems to be inspiring a craze for big sunglasses and scarves. Who knows, I might just give it a go for the review…


The next day, there was a surprise parcel from The Reading Room and Allen and Unwin. It was a copy of The Comfort of Lies by Randy Susan Meyers. Thank you – this looks to be a book with a few tangled relationships.


The rest of my Bookworld order arrived ahead of schedule – two Japanese fiction books I’ve had on my wish list for ages. All She Was Worth by Miyuki Miyabe and Now You’re One of Us by Asa Nonami look to be a bit dark, twisted and fun.


I also had a splurge at Dymocks Hay St, going in without a wish list or looking at my phone for reviews. These are the books I picked simply because I liked the covers and the blurbs on the back – Tales of the Jazz Age by F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing, The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry and Old Filth by Jane Gardam.


I also received a prize from Hachette, a copy of Mr Wigg by Inga Simpson. Set in 1970s Australia, this book looks sweet and just a touch sentimental. The font used on the title is from old packets of seeds – how cool is that?!


Finally, I have had to be more restrained on Net Galley this week as I’ve been mucking around with the computer gizzards. Just three thanks to Random House and Destiny Romance (click on the titles for more info):


Please do visit Tasha at Book Obsessed, our host for July. Mailbox Monday, started by Marcia, is the place to come and share your recent book acquisitions and walk away with a huge wish list!


13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 15/7/13

Add yours

  1. I just finished Where’d You Go Bernadette and I really enjoyed it! It’s clever and funny. I also have a copy of The Comfort of Lies and I’m looking forward to getting to that one.

    Looks like you had a good haul!

  2. So many gorgeous covers – I wouldn’t know where to start! I’ve been meaning to start Bernadette. Enjoy all your new books 🙂

  3. Your Japanese authors remind me I had better get going on the Japanese Literature Challenge 7 that I joined this year. They would be perfect for this.

  4. Oh, I adored The Golden Notebook…one could say I was obsessed with it a few years ago. Lessing’s books are hit and miss with me, but I really connected with that one.

    I also enjoyed Where’d You Go, Bernadette?

    Enjoy your break…and thanks for visiting my blog.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

