Mailbox Monday 5/8/13

It’s feeling spring-like here at the moment – the sun is shining, wildflowers are starting to bloom and we’re no longer going home in darkness. Could it be that winter is finally coming to an end? Whether it’s true or not, we can still depend on lovely books to appear on our shelves. Mailbox Monday, started by Marcia, is the place to come and share your recent book acquisitions and walk away with a huge wish list! Our host for August is Penelope at The Reading Fever, so do drop in to look at our latest acquisitions.

In my letterbox this week, I was lucky to receive an ARC, a prize and do a bit of shopping myself.

The first book I am very excited about. It’s Rachael Johns’ Outback Dreams, the first in a new Aussie rural romance trilogy. It’s released in October, so I am trying not to read it until a bit closer to the date. We’ll see how I go! Thank you Harlequin Books!

I also won a prize from High Heels and Book Deals – a copy of Fanny Blake’s The Secrets Women Keep. It looks like a wonderful fiction book about married life. I enjoyed Fanny’s first book (What Women Want), so I know I’m going to love this. Thank you Mel and Fanny!


I also made it to the bookshop, to buy two of the new green Popular Penguins. The green Penguins stand for crime, and I was pleased to get a book of Daphne du Maurier’s short stories (Don’t Look Now and Other Stories) and Barbara Vine’s A Dark-Adapted Eye. The Nicci French book, Beneath the Skin, was a present from my mum (thank you).

There are more books I’m itching to read, but I’m trying to be good! How was your reading week?

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 5/8/13

Add yours

  1. I was excited to receive Outbreak Dreams too. I hope you have entered the contest at my blog to win more green penguins!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

