Mailbox Monday 26/8/13

As promised, here is the just the beginning of my book haul from the Romance Writers of Australia conference (you can read Day 1 of my conference ramblings here). With a conference bookshop on site, it was all too easy to buy lovely books (and all too easy to put them in the car and come back for more)!

After hearing the fantastic Julia Quinn speak, I simply had to buy one of her books. I chose The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever – it sounds like Miranda’s a feisty heroine with a bitter hero to convert. Julia herself told me that this title went on sale as an ebook last week, so do check it out if you’re interested!

After meeting and getting a hug from the lovely Elise K. Ackers, I bought up on her books – The Man Plan and Small Town Storm.
The Man Plan is about Cora, determined to find a man for Christmas. Could it be Matt, her neighbour? Small Town Storm is a romantic suspense novel with a girl with a secret, Erica. I also bought Jennifer St George’s The Convenient Bride – a marriage of convenience that goes all wrong.

My final two purchases were the fantastic Sarah Wendell and Candy Tan’s
Beyond Heaving Bosoms The Smart Bitches’ Guide to Romance Novels – Sarah was a fantastically hilarious speaker (who got pics with the West Coast Eagles too – jealous!) so I had to buy it. This is an exploration of the romance genre that had me wildly giggling in the middle of conference. I’ve had The Engagements by J. Courtney Sullivan on my radar for some time – it’s love, marriage and betrayal across time periods.

After hearing a presentation by Harlequin Australia, I noted down a new title (and possibly new genre, coastal romance, or co-ro as it was mentioned on Twitter). It was Nobody But Him by Victoria Purman. Set on the gorgeous Fleurieu Peninsula in South Australia, this is about Julia who leaves for the big city delights of Melbourne, but is forced to return home years later. She runs into Ry – a boy from the past. Can she let him go? This is the first book in a trilogy and will be released in October. Lo and behold, this book appeared at the post office for collection from Harlequin (deemed ‘2 big 4 postie’ on the collection card – sign of things to come? Or that my postie is trying to save me from romance books?). Whatever it means, I’m looking forward to reading it!

Over the next two weeks, I’ll be posting more romance-related goodness from the conference. (Fear not, there will also be non-romance things too).

Bermuda Onion is hosting Mailbox Monday this month, so do drop in and share your finds! Mailbox Monday, started by Marcia, is the place to come and share your recent book acquisitions and walk away with a huge wish list!

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 26/8/13

Add yours

  1. Hi Sam,
    It sounds as though you had a hectic, yet very enjoyable time at the conference and you obviously picked up some great new titles.

    I particularly like the sound of ‘The Engagements’, which has received some excellent reviews so far, although on Amazon.co.uk someone could do with replacing the terrible cover image with the one you feature, t is so much better!

    Have a great week,

    Yvonne

  2. Love Julia Quinn! Two friends and I are hoping to go to the Romantic Times convention here this coming year. Judging by your experience, I hope we can pull it off!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

