Mailbox Monday 2/9/13: Goodies from RWAus13

I swear I just wrote last week’s post, doesn’t time fly! Last week I showed you what I bought at the Romance Writers of Australia Conference, now here’s what was in the conference bag, a prize I won and other books I was lucky enough to receive!

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, and this month is being hosted by Notorious Spinks Talks. Please do drop by to look at everyone’s latest acquisitions!

First up are the contests of the conference bag – delightfully heavy with books!

I swapped another book I’d read for A Duchess to Remember by Christina Brooke, a historical romance. To Turn Full Circle by Linda Mitchelmore is a historical romance set in early 1900s Devon. London’s Last True Scoundrel looks like a romantic historical novel with a wicked hero. Banish by Nicola Marsh is a YA book full of dramatic events and the supernatural. Date With Destiny by Helen Lacey / Haley’s Mountain Man by Tracy Madison are part of the Cherish romantic journeys for Mills and Boon. Stefanie Laurens’ The Reckless Bride is part of a historical romance series.

These two books were kindly on offer from Harlequin after the conference – first in, best dressed! Susan Wiggs’ The Apple Orchard is about family, friends and memories – gorgeous cover! The Sweetest Hallelujah by Elaine Hussey is about a mother looking for someone to take care of her daughter when she dies. I think I’ll really like both, which are available to buy now.

Penguin were also offering some books at the end of the conference – the cover of Seduction by Kate Forster looked tantalising (movie stars, old houses and scandal). I haven’t read Cathryn Hein before, so I was thrilled to pick up her rural romance, Heartland.

At the ARRA signing on Saturday, Harlequin Mills & Boon were offering free copies of the Australian and New Zealand authors. I ended up with three signed books. Bronwyn Jameson’s Princes of the Outback contains three Aussie rural romances; while Nikki Logan’s duo How To Get Over Your Ex / Mr Right At The Wrong Time looks like sweet and sexy contemporary romances. The Prince Who Charmed Her by Fiona McArthur is about doctors working on a cruise ship.

Finally, I won a copy of Kaz Delaney’s Dead, Actually from the lucky number door prize. It’s a YA novel, full of mystery.

Have you read any of these? What type of romance (if any) does you like to read?

11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 2/9/13: Goodies from RWAus13

Add yours

  1. The RWA conference was very good to you! Dead, Actually looks very cute and Seduction also sounds great. Looking forward to getting some romance recs from you!

  2. Wow, that’s a great haul you’ve got there! I really like the title and cover for Dead, Actually; I need to check what it’s about. Happy reading!

  3. Hi Sam,

    It looks as though this type of conference is definitely the place to go for some great giveaways. You have so many excellent sounding books, that I just don’t know where to look first.

    The one that really caught my eye, was ‘The Apple Orchard’. Susan Wiggs is a new to me author and yet another name for my reading list. I stopped by her website and it looks as though this book is going to be the first in a series, to be called Bella Vista, so look out for some more books in the months to come.

    I think that ‘The Apple Orchard’ also has this weeks best cover, with ‘Dead, Actually’ coming a close second.

    Enjoy all your books and have a great week,,
    Yvonne

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

