Mailbox Monday 9/9/13

It’s been quite busy this week, so I didn’t get out and about to look at the bookstores (why must my friends insist on eating lunch when there’s bookstores to explore?) Anyway, I was quite lucky in the post which was great. I love prizes and books, so these double fantastic to me! Hopefully spring will make more of an appearance this week – the weather has been fluctuating wildly from rain and wind to clear sunny days.

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, and this month is being hosted by Notorious Spinks Talks. Please do drop by to look at everyone’s latest acquisitions!

The first book in the mail was a great prize from The Sweet Escape – a copy of Milly Johnson’s It’s Raining Men. Thank you! Particularly apt as it’s been raining anything but here! The story is about three best friends who wrongly go to a strange little village for a spa retreat. What is wrong with the place and what will the tense atmosphere make them do?

I also won a copy of Planet Cakes Cupcakes by Paris Cutler
from Murdoch Books. I really like baking cupcakes (as those of you who follow me on Instagram would know!) and I think this will help me drastically improve my decorating skills. Watch out family and friends!

Crown Publishing in New York (love saying that, New York seems so far away!) kindly sent me a copy of Mother, Mother by Koren Zailckas. This story is about a family falling apart, turning to various vices. It’s described as having ‘dark wit’ and ‘shrewd psychological insight’ which I believe translates to ‘Sam Still Reading will really, really like this book’! I don’t mind dark books (in fact I quite enjoy them) – what are your thoughts?

Finally, my father gave me what was left of a gift card and told me to spend it. No problems there – I bought a copy of Ryders Ridge by Charlotte Nash. This is an Australian rural romance that came recommended at the Romance Writers of Australia conference (read more here and here) about a doctor fleeing the city for the country. But the country has its own problems – does she need to run again?

So that’s it for me this week – a little more sedate compared to last week! What are you looking forward to receiving in the mail?

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 9/9/13

Add yours

  1. Hi Sam,

    Personally, I am not sure that I would be rushing out to buy any of your selection this week, however there are a couple of them that are worthy of note.

    Whilst I don’t bake very much these days, my niece loves making cakes and is always on the lookout for new ideas, so the unique cupcake book would be right up her street.

    Author Koren Zailckas has certainly led a troubled life so far, as is apparent in the synopses for her first two books, which are autobiographical accounts. ‘Mother Mother’, whilst a novel, sounds pretty hard hitting and disturbing and yes, as you say, quite dark. The cover art is very innovative and disturbing on all three books and I should imagine that you will need tissues to hand when you start to read.

    Enjoy all of your books and have a great rest of the week.

    Yvonne

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

