Mailbox Monday 16/9/13

Things slowed a little over the past week, which I’m glad for. One thing did speed up, and that was parcel deliveries! I love receiving parcels, even more so when they’re a surprise!

The first surprise was a copy of Sinister Intent by Karen M. Davis from Simon & Schuster and The Reading Room. Thank you! Karen is a policewoman who writes about Lexie, a new detective who forms a bond with a bikie – who is under investigation. Set in Sydney, I think this book is sure to be interesting.

From The Reading Room, I received a copy of The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane. This book is gathering a lot of hype, so I’m really pleased to receive a copy. Thank you Anna! The book looks to be full of mystery and questioning as a mysterious guest enters Ruth’s life. It is also on the list of Get Reading’s! Top 50 Books You Can’t Put Down.

A package from Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room soon followed, containing the latest Phryne Fisher mystery by Kerry Greenwood, Murder and Mendelssohn. Thank you! Phryne Fisher is now a television series that I watch occasionally, but I’ve only read one of her mysteries a long time ago, back when I was an undergrad. I’m looking forward to reacquainting myself with Phryne on the page as she investigates the murder of an orchestra’s conductor.

My last parcel surprise was a copy of Alex by Pierre Lemaitre from Pan Macmillan and The Reading Room. Thank you for this book which I’ve heard is meant to be better than Gone Girl! Translated from the French, this book follows a kidnapping of a young girl.

Finally, I did a bit of a book haul myself. The Secrets of Mary Bowser by Lois Leveen is based on a true story as a woman tries to end slavery in the White House. Pictures at an Exhibition by Camilla MacPherson is a dual narrative between World War II and present day London. Likewise, Astor Place Vintage by Stephanie Lehmann tells the story of two New York based women in the early 1900s and present day. Finally, Call Me Zelda by Erika Robuck continues my fascination with the Fitzgeralds.

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, and this month is being hosted by Notorious Spinks Talks. Please do drop by to look at everyone’s latest acquisitions! What did you find in your mailbox last week?

9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 16/9/13

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

