Mailbox Monday 23/9/13

It turns out I was a bit scatterbrained last week because I forgot to put some books in my post! How silly of me. Lucky there’s a public holiday coming up!

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, and this month is being hosted by Notorious Spinks Talks Bob from Beauty in Ruins. Please do drop by to look at everyone’s latest acquisitions!

I received several books in between showers last week – some wins and a book for review.

Here’s the book I forgot. When you see it, you’ll wonder why I was so stupid!

Yes, it’s a copy of Elizabeth Gilbert’s The Signature of All Things from the kind folk at Bloomsbury Sydney. It’s a gorgeous cover, isn’t it? I must also emphasise that this is a fiction book – no finding yourself in Bali here! There’s some botany involved, which will be really interesting too.

I also won three ebooks as part of Juliet Madison’s Three Wishes Blog Hop, to celebrate the release of the sweetly funny I Dream of Johnny.

From Cate Ellink, I won a copy of The Virginity Mission (very handsome cover). It’s described as an ‘erotic new adult romance’. I haven’t tried the new adult genre yet, so I’m excited about this one. Thanks Cate!

Alissa Callen gave away an eBook of What Love Sounds Like – a sweet romance set in rural Australia. I really liked Beneath Outback Skies, so I’m sure I will like this! Thanks Alissa!

Finally, I also won an eBook from Téa Cooper, Passionfruit and Poetry. Don’t you just love the cover? This is the story of Jeanie, who happily lives in country Australia until a meeting with a photographer whisks her off to Sydney…sounds exciting, thank you!


I also won a prize on Twitter from Text Publishing, a copy of Madeleine St John’s The Essence of the Thing (chosen because I adored The Women in Black). This is about the end of a love affair and comes with the pretty Text Classics cover. Thank you for listening to me complain on Twitter Text!

The last thing I received in the mail was a copy of Mandy Magro’s Driftwood from Harlequin Australia. Thank you! This will be released in November and is a rural romance between a jillaroo and a cowboy.

As for buying…I bought a giftcard to use for eBooks, but haven’t quite got around to purchasing yet (too much choice!). There’s also several Persephone Books I have my eye on…

Did you buy or receive any books last week? Which books are you thinking about purchasing?

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 23/9/13

Add yours

  1. Hi Sam,

    I love the sound of ‘The Signature Of All Things’, you could definitely be mistaken for thinking that this is a work of non-fiction. It sounds as though it has been comprehensively researched and written with a meticulous eye to detail, by a thoroughly interesting and intriguing, new to me author.
    I am so glad that you remembered to feature this book, it is going onto my reading list as we speak.

    Have a great week,

    Yvonne

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

