Mailbox Monday 7/10/13

A shorter mailbox than usual as I’ve been down with a cold and ear infection over the last week. I’ve since learnt that one of the great things about ereaders is they’re not as heavy to hold up while you’re lying down!

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, and this month will be hosted by Gina at Book Dragon’s Lair. It’s the place to be for bookish finds!

There was just one book in my letterbox this week from The Reading Room and boy, it was a good one:

I’m not sure how popular Tim Winton is outside of Australia, but a new book by him is big news. Eyrie is set quite close to me in Fremantle, Western Australia is about a loner who lost his job due to corruption and then reconnects with a girl from his youth. It is a biting satire of Western Australia in the boom times so far and I’m loving it. Thanks Anna!

Another thing I like is how the dust jacket and hardcover underneath have such different pictures, like day and night.

What did you receive in your mailbox over the past week? Any big releases or books that are dear to you?

15 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 7/10/13

Add yours

  1. I hope you are beginning to feel better. I’m also glad the ereader came in handy.
    I enjoy most of Tim Winton’s books and like you love the different covers. I wonder if the idea will catch on?

  2. Hope you feel better soon…and you’re right about how great the Kindle is when lying down.

    Although if I’m sleepy, that doesn’t work well…I often drop it. Yikes!

    Now I’m curious about Eyrie…thanks for sharing.

    And thanks for visiting my blog.

  3. Oh no! So sorry to read about your being ill. I hope you are doing much better by now. And it’s true that ereaders are great companions when sick; they are lighter, and they also allow you to pick many books without getting up!
    Enjoy your new books, and take care! πŸ™‚

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

