Mailbox Monday 14/10/13

Thanks for your kind wishes last week – I’m feeling much better and ready to tackle some of the chunksters in my pile (such as The Signature of All Things which is nothing like Eat Pray Love!) I had an excellent week in terms of mail, including an exceptionally rare postie delivery on Saturday (normally there’s no mail on Saturday in Australia). I’m not sure why it happened, but it was great! The posties seemed to be out all over the city – I saw one popping into Macca’s (McDonald’s) on my way out. Perhaps a plethora of parcels required extra sustenance…

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, and this month will be hosted by Gina at Book Dragon’s Lair. It’s the place to be for bookish finds, especially as there are lots of great books being released at the moment!

First up was a prize from The Reading Room and Bloomsbury Sydney – a hardcover copy of Margaret Atwood’s Maddaddam, a T-shirt and a bookmark. I love the cover, especially the colours! Looking forward to expanding my fantasy horizons with this one – do I need to read the other two books in the trilogy first to appreciate this one? Can’t wait to wear my T-shirt when the weather gets warmer! Thank you!

I squealed like a fan girl when I saw Thornwood House by Anna Romer inside the parcel, courtesy of The Reading Room and Simon & Schuster. Thank you! This book was listed as one of the Top 50 reads for 2013’s Get Reading! Programme and looks deliciously creepy as a young woman moves into a house where a suspected murderer lived. She just might be next…

I think Christos Tsiolkas’ Barracuda could be a big talking point when it’s released next month. I won an early copy from the kind folk at Allen and Unwin. From the author of The Slap, Barracuda looks at the world of competitive swimming and life in contemporary Australia.

The Saturday mail was from Scribe Publications, a small publisher in Melbourne. I was so pleased when they asked if I’d like to review Cartwheel by Jennifer Dubois, because I’ve read so many great reviews from other bloggers. Thanks Marika! This book is fiction, but loosely based on real events as a girl is accused of murdering her roommate while overseas. There’s a high possibility I’ll be reading this on my way to Melbourne for a holiday soon – I think it’s the kind of book you can really get engrossed in.

This week saw the release of Helen Fielding’s new Bridget Jones book, Mad About the Boy. I just had to buy a copy, despite seeing the spoiler on Twitter. I loved Bridget’s other adventures and have read them several times. I was planning to buy a few more ebooks, but one of the books I bought didn’t have a download link– so I paid for nothing! I’m still trying to explain to the company that no link to download equals no book after several phone calls, so cross fingers I see a book or a refund.

How was your week? Which new releases are you choosing to read (if any)?

16 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 14/10/13

Add yours

    1. Hi Elizabeth,
      Good different – it’s got a wonderfully researched plot and I didn’t find it as self-centred as the parts of Eat, Pray, Love that I read. My review will be up next week for it 🙂

  1. Thornwood House is new to me, but looks really intriguing. And I’ve heard great things about Cartwheel and think it’s one I’d enjoy, and hope you do as well! Happy reading!

  2. Gosh you did have a good week, imagine getting a mail delivery on Saturday. I love the fact that the T shirt is the colour of the cover of the book. Great colours too. Enjoy your books.

  3. Ooh, you got some lovely books! I adore the covers on yours…my MaddAdam was an e-book, and so was Cartwheel….that’s what I miss when I download books…sigh. Enjoy! Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. I’m excited about Mad About the Boy finally coming out! It’s been so long since I have read the previous books though, I will probably have to refresh my memory a little before reading it. Enjoy your new books! 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

