Mailbox Monday 21/10/13

Wow, this previous week was busy. I didn’t finish even a single book – a rare thing of me. I do have three books that are over the halfway point though.

I’ve gone off buying ebooks in epub format after last week (not sure how long this will last), but I did buy a couple of Kindle books thanks to an Amazon gift voucher. No pics from my Kindle, the covers are much more pretty in colour! They were:

Ask Me to Stay by Elise K. Ackers

This is the first book in the Homeland series – I enjoyed the second book, Ask Me For More and will be reading the third book, Ask Me For Tomorrow soon. They are all set in a small Australian country town with variations on sweet romance. I enjoy them because I can happily read them on a few train trips, plus they put me in a good mood. I hear that there could be more Homeland in the works – see this chat with Elise!

Untamed by Anna Cowan

I haven’t really read Regency romance before (really, most of my Regency reading is Austen). I have heard a lot of great things about this book, set between a Duke and an outspoken young lady. Plus I noticed that it’s now also available as a paper book (not just electronic), which must be a good thing!

I was also lucky to receive two parcels in the mail (if anyone can tell me why Australia Post is now delivering on Saturday, I’d be grateful). The first was from Allen and Unwin and The Reading Room:

Isn’t it a nifty proof cover? To be honest, I hadn’t heard of The Good House by Ann Leary before – but a quick search brought up a number of reviews that loved it. It’s about a woman with alcoholism – drinking, but pretending she doesn’t. It will be an interesting read that’s sure to get me talking. Thanks guys!

The second was from Anna at The Reading Room, who found out I was once a devourer of all James Bond books (okay – I told her).

Yes, it’s a new Bond – Solo by William Boyd. It’s set in 1969 and Bond is doing something so secret he can’t even tell M…I’m really excited about this. Thanks Anna!

Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia, and this month will be hosted by Gina at Book Dragon’s Lair. It’s the place to be for bookish finds, especially as there are lots of great books being released at the moment!

Well, I’ve got a bit to read this week (and the next)! What are you really excited to read this week?

17 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 21/10/13

Add yours

  1. You sound as though you have some reading to catch up on, what a great pleasure it will be. I hope you have the opportunity to sit and read this week. Leave all the housework, it will still be there!

  2. It looks there is new cover for Good House or else maybe Australia and the USA have different covers. I’ve read a lot of positive reviews about that book, but haven’t read it yet. Have a great week.

  3. I absolutely adored The Good House…and can’t wait for the movie! With Meryl Streep and Robert DeNiro, it’s bound to be a smash hit…right?

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. Hi Sam,

    We have had our Saturday postal deliveries stopped, here in Somerset, UK. In fact, deliveries are so random these days, in both frequency and timing, that it is not a service you can rely on any more … Maybe things will improve now it has been privatised, although I doubt it!!

    I must admit that I prefer my James Bond rations in the film version and have never read any of the books, although I have watched the films many times over. Best James Bond … a toss up between Pierce Brosnan and Daniel Craig.

    I am liking the sound of the Anna Cowan book, so have added that one to my list.

    Thanks for sharing and have a great week.

    Yvonne

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

