Mailbox Monday 25/11/13: Melbourne Holiday Haul

Wow, the last mailbox for November! Thank you to Crystal at I totally paused! for being the Mailbox Monday host this month. Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia as a way of sharing your new books and having fun at the same time.

As promised, these are the books from my recent holiday to Melbourne. As there are lots of great bookshops in Melbourne, it was only fair that I visited several of them!

First stop was Hill of Content bookshop on Bourke St, a beautifully presented store with lots of treasures. There, I picked up one of the books I’d seen on their Instagram feed –Her Brilliant Career by Rachel Cooke (I still haven’t seen this book elsewhere). I love browsing bargain sections and The Three Weissmanns of Westport by Cathleen Schine looked like a fun read.

Next stop up the Bourke St hill was the Paperback Bookshop, a tiny store filled (and I mean filled) with books. My eyes locked with The Thirties by Juliet Gardiner, a hefty paperback filled with non-fiction about the 1930s.

Reader’s Feast is a shop I made several trips to. Now situated on Collins St (up another hill) in the beautiful Georges building, they have a wonderful array of books on myriads of subjects. Plus, all the staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. Melting the Snow on Hester Street by Daisy Waugh looks at the stock market crash of 1929 and turbulent times in earlier New York. The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom is about an Irish orphan living on a Southern plantation. The Subterranean Railway by Christian Wolmar fulfils my need to read more and more about the London Underground. Honour by Elif Shafak is set in Turkey and 1970s London. Call Nurse Millie by Jean Fullerton is a fiction book that will appeal to fans of Call the Midwife (i.e. me). Finally, not only does Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter have a beautiful cover, everyone in store loved it.

Dymocks on Collins St is a very large store, packed with a huge variety of books. I decided on Park Lane by Frances Osborne, a historical novel about service and Suffragettes – it’s been on my wish list for ages and the price was nice too.

I also went to Chadstone Shopping Centre, an enormous mall in the suburbs. There was one of those discount bookstores there and I came away with a few books (would have been more if I wasn’t hungry and didn’t have to lug them across the country). Marjorie Celona’s Y is about a girl abandoned as a newborn at the YMCA. With All My Love by Patricia Scanlan uncovers a family secret. Yesterday’s Sun by Amanda Brooke looks at a difficult choice: yours or your child’s? Sisterland by Curtis Sittenfeld is about twins, one who causes an uproar.

Finally, my last stop was Readings Carlton, where I found the funny and gorgeously illustrated The Moaning of Life by Karl Pilkington. Just the thing to read on the way home!

All these just managed to fit in my suitcase! Do you like to peruse bookshops when you’re on holiday?

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 25/11/13: Melbourne Holiday Haul

Add yours

  1. Lots of books and lots of good ones too. Enjoy them all. I used to shop for books in Chennai where it is so very cheap (compared to Sri Lanka). Don’t do that anymore!

  2. Ooh, what a nice haul! Hope you enjoy them all…I see some that look intriguing, like Y and Yesterday’s Sun. Sisterland is a good one, too. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  3. Great book shopping while on holiday! The Three Weismann’s is a wonderful book, a modern take on a Jane Austen. I hope you enjoy it. Melting the Snow on Hester Street sounds fascinating and The Kitchen House has been on my tbr list far too long. I read Sisterland recently and thought it was quite good. Being a twin I’m always drawn to books about twins.
    You purchased quite a nice stack of books. Enjoy them…Happy Reading!

  4. Hi Sam,

    I take it you went on holiday alone then? That would be the only way I would have managed to spend such quality time in all those lovely bookshops!! … LOL

    Whenever we go anywhere and I happen to spot a shop of any sort which sells books, I somehow always find myself being deftly steered away from it.

    I must admit that even I do try and avoid bookshops now, as there are just so many great titles out there, that to choose just a couple (or maybe a few!), would be almost impossible.

    You have a great haul, far too many to take in a t one sitting, although you have bagged one by one of my favourite authors, Patricia Scanlan and as I haven’t read ‘With All My love’, that’s a definite for my list.

    Glad you had a great holiday and enjoy your week,

    Yvonne

  5. I absolutely love to go into any and every book shop I see when I’m traveling. I just can’t resist them. Beautiful Ruins was one of my favorite books last year and The Thirties sounds fascinating. Well, they all sound good!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

