Mailbox Monday 2/12/13

Finally December! This is going to be a busy (but hopefully enjoyable) month with Christmas and my birthday. It also means my holidays are over and it’s time to go back to work. I did have a lot of fun though!

Rose City Reader is our Mailbox Monday host this month. Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia as a way of sharing your new books and having fun at the same time.

I had a fairly quiet week in terms of books – I seem to be buying more books for others at the moment!

I received a copy of John Safran’s Murder in Mississippi in the post from Penguin Australia and The Reading Room. This is a true crime book, which looks very interesting. I love the cover – it looks even more 3D in the photograph. I’ve enjoyed John’s TV programmes and radio shows, so I’m really looking forward to this. (Actually, I’ve already started it!)

I also attended a focus group and got a gift voucher as a thank you. Of course, this went straight on books:

amy tan joanna trollope tasmina perry nov 13

I chose three new releases – I liked the idea of the dual narrative (historical and present day) in Tasmina Perry’s The Proposal. The Austen Project also sounds really interesting, so I thought I’d try Joanna Trollope’s modern reworking of Sense and Sensibility. Finally, I read an excellent review of The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan, plus I loved the cover.

What did you receive in the mail? Are you buying books for your loved ones this Christmas?

11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 2/12/13

Add yours

  1. Murder In Mississippi doesn’t sound like my kind of thing, but the cover is fantastic! Do I take it that isn’t 3D then? It looks exactly like a dustjacket with a hole in it peeking through to the book underneath!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

