Mailbox Monday 23/12/13

It’s getting busier and busier in the lead up to Christmas – meal plans need to be finalised, presents have to be wrapped (I actively detest wrapping!), parties need to be attended and copious amounts of food simply have to be eaten! Was it any wonder I didn’t buy any physical books this week?

Rose City Reader is our Mailbox Monday host this month. Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia as a way of sharing your new books and having fun at the same time. Next year, it will be hosted at the Mailbox Monday site permanently.

You can’t beat ebooks for instant gratification. Thanks to Sony Reader Store, I was offered a voucher to trial their new-look site. Simple and easy, plus I don’t think they care whether or not I had full make-up on during the transaction. (For the record, I did).

I got 3 ebooks for just under $20 in the Australian store. There looks to be some super sales in the UK store and a discount vouchers in the US store. Envious!

Both Happy Eva After (Chris Harrison) and The Tailor’s Girl (Fiona McIntosh) are by Australian novelists (Allen and Unwin and Penguin appear to be having sales on new release ebooks across Sony and Amazon). Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell is a book I’ve heard so much about and it dropped a couple of dollars, so I bought it too. I spent ages comparing books and prices to get the most ‘bang’ for my buck (dollar)! Happy Eva After had me at the mention of Fawlty Towers of London language college; while the pretty cover and historical setting of The Tailor’s Girl looks like a good holiday read.

I’m hoping Father Christmas brings me a book or two, plus I’m hoping there will be some good eBook sales post-Christmas. I’ve also got my fingers crossed that there will be some good cosmetics deals – Boxing Day (December 26) is probably the biggest sale in Australia for the year.

What did you receive this week? Do you receive books as presents?

9 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 23/12/13

Add yours

  1. Your ebooks look like fun. Isn’t it nice to slip them in during our busy lives! (Your budgie is so beautifully colorful! Does he/she talk?)
    I hope you have a blessed Christmas and enjoy your reading!

    1. Thanks – my budgie is a boy, called Monty Python. He talks A LOT – probably about 20 different words/phrases including, ‘Monty Python’, ‘Monty PIE!’, ‘Okay budgie’, ‘You’re beautiful’, ‘Happy birthday’ and ‘Good boy Monty/Olly’ (Olly is the cockatiel). He mumbles pretty much all day!
      Merry Christmas!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

